Where’s the end?

Have you ever had one of those things in your life that you just want to flip to the end of the book and make sure it all turns out OK? That it really does end? Yeah. One problem: I don’t know how long the damn book really is. Where is the end? Near? Far? Someone please tell me how many pages are left!

In the mail yesterday I received something from the IRS. This didn’t freak me out. I assumed that it was related to end of year W2 stuff. Heaven knows I’ve been receiving enough emails at work reminding me to check my information so my W2 is correct. Worse case scenario I’m being audited for some reason.

I was wrong. So very very wrong.

In the envelope was a bunch of paperwork telling me that they’ve made an adjustment to my 2013 taxes and I now owe them $1,200. Confused, I start reading the information as to where the extra income came from. I don’t remember making any extra money that would have any impact on my income.

Then I read the line of the company that filed the 1099-C and what it was for. Cancellation of debt. A company I don’t know. In St. Louis.

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE F*$&^@# KIDDING ME.

I screamed so loud I scared my dog and cat. I have no doubt my neighbors heard me.

It’s one of the companies the 2 women who stole my identity back in Sept. 2006 took out a loan from. This is the “forgiveness” of the fraudulent loan. The fraudulent loan is on MY taxes. Someone in that company didn’t remove my Social Security Number from their files. So when they filed their “forgiveness” paperwork they used my SSN and it got hooked into my taxes and now the IRS wants me to pay them money for the forgiveness of the fraudulent loan. It doesn’t even make sense. There is no logic to this whole damn case. <insert second scream of frustration here>

I have copies of all paperwork I mailed to the 3 companies the affidavit and the Federal case number and all the correspondence with the credit agencies and more. It’s a 3 inch thick file all related to the identity theft. These two women took out nearly $50,000 worth of loans in my name. The women were caught. They were found guilty and sentenced by the Federal courts in 2008. All the companies involved were supposed to delete my SSN from their records and change the name associated to the legal names of the women, effectively deleting any trace of me and my legal identity from all of their records. That’s the law. It’s been a nightmare for me. I’ve had random debt collection agencies contact me. My credit rating was messed up for years. You can read all about the saga on this blog.

I hadn’t had anything related to the identity theft show up since 2008. I thought I was in the clear. That I could put the nightmare to bed. That I could finally repair my credit and move forward with my life.

But the nightmare is back.

So now I have to make a bunch of phone calls and file a bunch of paperwork to try and sort this out. All because someone didn’t do their job and follow the law and remove me from their records. I’m so angry right now I can’t even find the words to fully express it.

I have no idea how long this particular book in my life is. I want to trust that it does have an end. That everything eventually turns out OK. I really wish I knew how long the book was and if the ending was near or far.

Frankly, I think I’d rather be audited.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

