ALA Annual 2013 Chicago

Here’s where to find me at ALA Annual 2013 in Chicago:

Shana’s ALA Annual 2013 schedule

Of course I need a clone. And there are several sessions that don’t appear in the public version of my schedule. Such as my PCC Standing Committee on Automation meeting on Monday morning at 8:30am. Whoever said that conferences are supposed to be relaxing and a “vacation” from work never attended a conference with 12+ hours of back to back meetings/sessions for three days in a row all starting at 8:30am and ending with after-meeting social events for networking. As my friend E. reminded me today on Twitter: sleep is for the weak.

I’m also super excited that we have 37 (!!!!!) people signed up for the ALCTS/LITA Library Code Year Interest Group hosted preconference on Friday, June 28, 2013 titled “Introductory Python Workshop”. THIRTY-SEVEN PEOPLE. This is incredible. And awesome. And exciting. And amazing. And I think I need a thesaurus to find more words to describe the sheer awesomeness of it. Thirty-seven people that want to learn to code and have signed up for a crash course in Python.

Why should these 37 people learn to code Python (or any) programming language? My answer that I gave in a previous blog post (link): catalogers/metadata professionals/librarians work with massive amounts of curated bibliographic data, and being able to manipulate it in new and different ways and in ever increasing amounts is key as we move forward into the bibliographic future and the world of linked data and the semantic web. So learning about coding, and learning to code, gives us more options to curate our own data.

As always, DM me via Twitter (@slmcdanold) or text me if you’re trying to find me or want/need to set up a meeting.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in ALA, Chicago IL, conferences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

