The return of Python coding

As many of you know, in 2012 Codecademy made a push to teach people coding one lesson at a time and called it Code Year (they’re doing it again in 2013).

This adventure spread to libraries and the library community chronicled in several ways:

Catcode wiki
ALCTS/LITA Library Code Year Interest Group
Code Year ALAConnect Community page
Catcode Twitter list and hashtags #catcode or #libcodeyear
LibCatCode
An IRC channel: #catcode (use http://webchat.freenode.net/ for free web access)
Libraries got their own page on StackExchange: Libraries & Information Science

I signed up for Code Year and did a bunch of the lessons. I also took several Python classes from the PyStar group in Philly (which has merged with the Python User Group or PUG). I attended a bunch of other coding related MeetUp sessions in early 2013. You can read about my personal adventures in coding and the development of the catcode group under the category coding or catcode.

Then I moved. And started a new job. And coding kind of fell off my radar of things to do in my spare time as I had boxes to be unpacked and a new neighborhood to explore.

But in the past nearly 9 months, there’s been plenty of coding by librarians going on. We now have a github space for the Library Code Year IG. There was this excellent article by Heidi Frank: “Augmenting the Cataloger’s Bag of Tricks” in the code4lib journal issue 20, talking about Python and PyMarc and MarcEdit (note the NEW web address for MarcEdit).

The ALCTS/LITA Library Code Year Interest Group is also hosting a full day Preconference at ALA Annual in Chicago on Friday, June 28, 2013 titled “Introductory Python Workshop” (registration info here: http://ala13.ala.org/ticketed-events#LITA ).

Today my co-organizers (Andromeda Yelton, Carli Spina, and Jennifer Young) and myself were notified that we received a grant to help cover the food costs for the preconference! This is wonderful news. Thank you thank you thank you to the Python Software Foundation for your support. You can follow them on Twitter here: @ThePSF

 

 

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in ALA, cataloging, catcode, Chicago IL, coding, conferences, Python. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

