Library Code Year Interest Group at ALA

The LITA/ALCTS Library Code Year IG will be having our first meeting at ALA Annual 2012 (#ala12) in Anaheim, CA and we need your help. We are looking for speakers to give lightening talks!

Call for Speakers

What strategies, or roadblocks, have you found in learning to code? How have you used programming to improve library service models or workflows?

The Library Code Year Interest Group seeks speakers for lightening talks (5 minutes) on any aspect of coding and libraries, including projects you have completed, your experience learning to code or thoughts on projects you would like to see in the future.  Speakers at all levels of coding skill and from all types of library backgrounds are invited to participate.

Our meeting at ALA Annual in Anaheim will be Saturday, June 23, 1:30-3:30pm at the Doubletree Suites (Tuscany AB). You can find it on the ALA Scheduler here. The inaugural meeting of the Library Code Year Interest Group will provide an opportunity for members to discuss how they have used what they have learned through Code Year in their jobs and to discuss roadblocks they have encountered along the way through a combination of lightening talks and roundtable discussions. Attendees will learn ways that the code they are learning can be used in libraries and have a chance to share their experiences learning and using code. We will end with a brainstorming session on how the IG can support members’ efforts to learn and apply code in libraries.

Feel free to contact me with any questions at slmcdanold@gmail.com or mcdanold@pobox.upenn.edu or post your thoughts on our Connect page.
Even if you don’t want to give a talk, I hope to see you there! 
About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in ALA, Anaheim CA, cataloging, catcode, coding, conferences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

