CatCode is born!

The number of people interested in the Code Year 2012 catcode project has grown by leaps and bounds the past few days! I’m slightly overwhelmed. I’m also stupidly excited and keep doing a little happy dance in my chair at work with each new person that adds themselves as a participant. I can hardly keep up with all the Twitter messages and post comments! To see the growing list, check out my previous post. I’ve been actively updating the post to add names as I receive them.

To help facilitate participation going forward, I’ve created a space in PBWiki for all of us to use: CatCode is born! The CodeYear project may have spawned the space, but my hope is that it becomes a more general space for dialogue and learning for catalogers and coders beyond the CodeYear project. A girl can dream, right?

Please go visit the wiki and sign up as a user (it’s free!). Once your access has been granted (please be patient with me on verifying you! I’m trying to prevent spammers), please update your information on the Participants page. If you submitted your name before, I’ve pre-populated the participant’s table with some information…please find your info and update it!

We (my partners in crime and I) are still working on setting up a discussion/q&a space. We’ll post the information far and wide as soon as it’s ready.

And don’t forget to follow the Twitter list too! Catcode and send a message on Twitter to me to add yourself to the list. We’re also using #catcode as the hashtag.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, catcode, coding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

