Library Day in the Life – Round 7, Day 2

This post is part of Library Day in the Life project. See: http://librarydayinthelife.pbworks.com/ for more information. I also participated previous rounds. You can find all my posts for this project by searching my blog’s librarydayinthelife tag. You can also follow my Twitter posts @slmcdanold with the hashtag #libday7.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Arrive at my desk about 8:05am. Login to work network. Login to email, calendar, Voyager and Connexion, open GChat, open a browser, login to various web programs (including Evernote), start TweetDeck.

Read email. Forward and respond to necessary messages. Catch up on news feeds, work email listservs, and library-related Twitter lists. Scan subjects and then delete mass numbers of listserv messages.

Surprisingly, I have no meetings, appointments, etc. on my calendar today. Quick! Hide me!

I spend some time investigating the server reference in a local handle URL (aka local PURL) that I had never seen before. [caution: MARC speak ahead!] This came up due to an email asking questions about what to do if there’s no subfield in the 856 to mask the URL in the public display. The example in the email included a handle with the new-to-me handle server reference in the address. Ultimately, after asking a few additional questions, I have two new things on my to-do list that spawned from the email: what to do with things that have no indicators present in the 856 field, and I need to further investigate what things have the new-to-me server reference and whether they should even be visible to the public. If so, then we’ll need to do some metadata cleanup to add some subfields to mask the URL and tell the public where the link takes them. Time to request a report from our system (all report queries to to the system server are made by our tech/systems folks – I don’t have access to the report functionality).

I reply to the email, indicating the changes on the ingest/display specs for our OPAC (we’re still in the development/testing phase) to answer the original question about display when there’s no subfield to mask the URL. Ultimately I end up on the phone with the team leader for the user interface design team I’m on to nail down the specific language we need to use. Lots of [] statements and OR and AND boolean statements mashed together. All of this will have to be confirmed at a meeting next week, but we think our proposal will be approved with no objections.

I then return to the ebook cataloging records I started yesterday and finally finish them. I import the new records into our system and email my staff person to complete the local processing.

I remember I need to send email reminder to all librarians about a meeting tomorrow afternoon. I send it promptly before I forget again.

And all of that happened before 10:20am.

The rest of the morning is spent on work with MARC record sets. I have two sets ready for editing. [caution: more MARC speak ahead!] We usually do minor modifications on all of our record sets to add additional access points (at the request of the bibliographer), delete 9xx fields that conflict with local use, and normalize specific MARC fields so limits work properly in our OPAC. Once my additional edits are complete, I have to amend the ticket with our tech/systems folks so they know they files are ready for loading into our catalog.

11:45am A colleague stops by. Her computer crashed and when she got her new one, all her OCLC authorizations and settings were gone. This happens with surprising regularity (the loss of settings). I am the keeper of the master list of OCLC authorizations for our libraries, so after finding out what she needs to do and what her staff need to do, I write down the authos she needs.

12:15pm Time for lunch! And a walk over to the Philadelphia Runner store in search of a pair of long-ish running shorts. The shorts I’ve been using aren’t designed for running, and well, that can be uncomfortable when they get twisted. Unfortunately, they only have the super-short summer styles in. Looks like I’ll have to order a pair with a longer inseam from REI instead (bonus! I have a 20% off coupon for one full-price item at REI!).

During lunch I get notification that the URLs in the most recent collection set of MARC records we loaded are throwing up a proxy error page. Damn. Forward the email to the appropriate colleagues for proxy troubleshooting. I also get the error file from the load sent to me. In good news 1,010 records DID load. But 76 records didn’t load for reasons unknown. Only 2 records have an easily identifiable MARC error…the rest are mystery errors. Now to attempt to troubleshoot/fix the errors and load the records again.

I do eventually figure out that some of the records errored because they have a non-Unicode/non-MARC8 character in a note field: a superscript. Now I just have to figure out how to fix those and figure out why the rest of the records errored. I email my colleague that’s a rare books cataloger to find out how they enter superscript characters for signatures.

I spend the rest of the afternoon alternating error fixes with Program for Cooperative Cataloging committee and task group work. The PCC Policy Committee (I’m a member since I’m current chair of the Standing Committee on Automation) has a document for review. My Standing Committee has a proposal in for a task group and we need to respond to comments from the PCC Steering Committee so it can move forward ASAP. The PCC RDA hybrid bib record task group I’m chairing has several documents I need to review and comment on. It’s a busy time for the PCC.

4:00pm Final email check. Clean out email listservs. Check Twitter and blog feeds. Schedule this post.

4:10pm Log out from network. Shut down (restart) computer. Leave work. Today I *have* to leave on time as I have to get somewhere in Center City before 5pm.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, librarianship, librarydayinthelife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

