Library Day in the Life – Round 5, Day 5

See: http://librarydayinthelife.pbworks.com/ for info on the project. I also participated previous rounds in Janurary 2010 and in July 2009. You can find all my posts for this project by searching my blog’s librarydayinthelife tag. You can also follow my Twitter posts @slmcdanold with the hashtag #libday5.

There is no post for Day 4, Thursday, July 29, 2010. I was at home battling a migraine, which required aspirin, water, a dark room, a cold pack for my head, and lots of quiet.

Friday, July 30, 2010

6:25am: Roll out of bed. Shower, dress, breakfast, coffee. Pour remaining coffee into travel mug. No packed lunch today. It’s “food truck Friday”! All summer a small group comprised of myself and a few of my colleagues have been sampling the various food truck options in and around campus. The food truck culture here is incredible. So many delicious options.

7:35am: Walk to work.

8:05am: Login to work network. Login to email, calendar, chat, other various programs. Read email. Forward and respond to necessary messages. Scan subjects and then delete mass numbers of listserv messages. Check in with early-arriving staff. Catch up on news feeds, and library-related Twitter lists while finishing coffee. Start this post. Review my calendar. Review the scribbled to-do list I made at the end of the day Wednesday. Send more emails.

8:40am: Sent off final report for ALA committee and upload it into the committee’s ALA Connect workspace. Upload other various documents and reports from my time on the committee (and as Chair) to the committee’s Connect space. I have now completed all my duties for that committee. I was on it for seven (yes, 7!) years. That’s a long time. But it’s also time to move onto other committee work elsewhere.

8:50am: Set up new subscriptions for MARC records for an electronic book collection set. This set has lots of subsets, so I double check I’m ordering records for the right ones. I print out the confirmation screen and put it in the inbox for our electronic acquisitions person so she can watch for the invoice and process the payment.

9:00am: Review and update the spreadsheet for all our electronic collection sets. Start reviewing 3 sets of MARC records processed by my colleague in preparation for loading them into our catalog.

9:30am: Check in via IM with my boss. She sends me a document to review later this morning. Must finish reviewing the MARC records first.

10:20am: Finish looking at third MARC records file. All seems to be well. Checked report of URLs, and all is well there. Yay! We can cross this set off our list. Send email to colleague that the records can be loaded and update the tracking spreadsheet accordingly. Review email and start reviewing document from my boss.

10:30am: Remember that I told a colleague at another institution I’d email her a list of, um, challenges I encounter when working with MARC records from vendors for our electronic collection sets. Quickly make list of issues and send email. Records from vendors tend to have a lot of variation and present some interesting challenges. I always try to encourage the use of the PCC MARC Record Guide for Vendors. It’s a good resource for any vendor looking to create MARC records for their customers.

Run errand upstairs to color photocopier to make copies of unit statistics sheet for new cataloging.

Remember I have to send weekly time sheet for unit to HR. Double check sign in sheet and my calendar to make sure everything is correct, and send it off.

11:25am: Back to reviewing document from my boss. I *will* finish this before lunch. Make a few comments and send the document back to her.

11:45am: LUNCH. Food truck Friday didn’t go as planned. We tried two different trucks. The first one wasn’t there, and the second one was closing up shop early. So we ended up at a nice sushi place instead. Mmmm. Sushi. Such a perfect light summer lunch. Filling yet not heavy.

1:15pm: Make final revisions to a recommendation for a colleague and post it to online form. This involves a small battle with the online form, which gives me an error message whenever I try to upload a file. Finally I just copy and paste into the text box and submit it. I’m hopeful for my colleague.

2:00pm: More email review. Clean out the listserv folders. Wonder again at the pertinacity of a particular listserv thread. And now there’s two of them. They’re multiplying. Damn Friday threads.

2:15pm: Type up notes from Wednesday afternoon’s meeting and distribute them accordingly.

3:05pm: IM with colleague regarding other large collection sets of MARC records. I’m trying to do more with MarcEdit to distribute the work on these sets a bit more. Having to write a PERL script for each one, especially sets that are single-time loads, is a bit much. I attended the MarcEdit workshop pre-conference at ALA and learned a LOT from Terry Reese. Now I’m trying to replicate the things he showed us MarcEdit can do. It’s a much more powerful tool than I realized. So much potential. I now have several very large (100,000+ MARC records) sized sets to play with and test the limits of MarcEdit. Hopefully I won’t break anything (my desktop included).

3:30pm: Post updated version of spreadsheet tracking our electronic collection sets to the library webpage server via FTP. Nearly forgot my password. Yikes.

3:45pm: Copy monthly statistics from report posted online. Only the current month of daily statistics is kept, so I have to copy the daily stats on the last working day of each month. If I didn’t have a handy dandy tickler in my calendar I don’t know I’d remember to do this otherwise.

4:15pm: Week wrap up. Final email check. Clean out email listservs. Check feeds and blogs. Schedule this post.

4:30pm: Log out from network. Shut down (restart) computer. Leave work. Yay weekend!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, librarianship, librarydayinthelife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

