Library Day in the Life – Round 5, Day 3

See: http://librarydayinthelife.pbworks.com/ for info on the project. I also participated previous rounds in Janurary 2010 and in July 2009. You can find all my posts for this project by searching my blog’s librarydayinthelife tag. You can also follow my Twitter posts @slmcdanold with the hashtag #libday5.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

6:35am: Roll out of bed. The cat appears to be in a good mood this morning. Following me around, actively seeking attention. Huh. Wonder what trouble she’s been up to. Shower, dress, breakfast, coffee. Pack lunch. I really do bring my lunch every day unless I know I have other plans. Pour remainder of coffee in travel mug.

nearly 7:40am: Walk to work.

8:05am: Login to work network. Login to email, calendar, chat, other various and sundry programs. Read email. Forward and respond to necessary messages. Send reminder email about a meeting this afternoon. Scan subjects and then delete mass numbers of listserv messages. Check in with early-arriving staff. Catch up on news feeds, and library-related Twitter lists while finishing coffee. Start this post. Review my calendar. Review the scribbled to-do list I made at the end of the day yesterday. Send more emails.

9:30am: Weekly check in meeting with my supervisor.

10:30am: Back at desk. More email.

11:00am: Took a moment to post a comment on Librarian by Day’s recent Library Day in the Life post. A comment was posted (a rather negative, attacking, inflammatory, judgmental comment) essentially saying if you’re not dealing with the public directly (face to face) every day, then you’re not a librarian. Needless to say, I beg to differ. I am a librarian. And I don’t have face to face time with patrons. And I’m OK with that. Still, everything I do is with the patron in mind. My job is to make sure things we own or have access/subscribe to are findable. If the patron can’t find what they need, then I’m not doing my job. So I constantly think about the patron, even if I don’t interact with them face to face.

11:15am: Open up ALA ALCTS report form and notes from my (former) committee’s meeting at ALA Annual. Reports are due at the end of the week, so I really just need to finish it today and get it off my to-do list. Pull quick draft together to be sent out for review by the committee.

12:05pm: Break for lunch and cupcakes! There’s a food truck that travels around the city and sells nothing but delicious little gourmet cupcakes. Wednesday is when she’s on campus. Om nom nom. Also check Facebook and giggle uncontrollably at a hilarious t-shirt found by a friend.

1:30pm: Back to ALA committee report. Post notes from the ALA meeting to the committee’s Connect space for review and email report draft to current chair for review before submission.

1:45pm: More emails. This time for a NASIG committee. Resurrect the draft announcement and start filling in all the information that’s been gathered and decided upon in the past few weeks.

2:15pm: Meeting at 2:30pm that I, um, moderate/chair (for lack of a better word). Leave desk early to open room and retrieve copies of documentation.

2:30pm: Meeting. Lots of discussion and the meeting runs the full 1 1/2 hours it’s scheduled and a little over. Whoa.

4:20pm: Back at desk. Email check. There’s an existing MARC record collection set that is now coming in a new way and the collection itself has changed a bit. I track all our collections on a giant spreadsheet, so I enter the necessary information about the changes and next steps. Basically I have to treat it like a new collection and start from scratch, from the point of setting up the “brand new” subscription to the MARC records from the vendor.

4:45pm: Edit yesterdays to-do list. Cross off things accomplished and add new things for first thing tomorrow. Chat with colleague and agree we need to meet to figure some stuff out. More email. Clean out email listservs (good heavens the AUTOCAT list went crazy today on one specific thread). Schedule this post.

5:10pm: Log out from network. Shut down (restart) computer. Leave work.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, librarianship, librarydayinthelife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

