Library Day in the Life – Round 5, Day 2

See: http://librarydayinthelife.pbworks.com/ for info on the project. I also participated previous rounds in Janurary 2010 and in July 2009. You can find all my posts for this project by searching my blog’s librarydayinthelife tag. You can also follow my Twitter posts @slmcdanold with the hashtag #libday5.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

6:35am: Roll out of bed. Realize that something is up with NPR. Usually I wake up to Morning Edition and Marketplace, but this morning there is no broadcast, just static and a high-pitched buzz. Huh. I’m glad I woke up. Shower, dress, breakfast, coffee. Pack lunch. Pour remainder of coffee in travel mug.

7:30am: Walk to work.

8:00am: Login to work network. Login to email, calendar, chat, other various and sundry programs. Read email. Forward and respond to necessary messages. Scan subjects and then delete mass numbers of listserv messages. Check in with early-arriving staff. Catch up on news feeds, and library-related Twitter lists while finishing coffee. Start this post. Review my calendar. The only thing on my calendar for the day is the TechTrends ALA Annual Conference 2010 webinar. Guess I have no excuse to avoid the statistics (ugh).

8:45am: Open up spreadsheet of unit statistics and retrieve paper forms submitted by staff. Spend next hour entering numbers for last 4 months, verifying totals, and cursing under my breath.

9:30am: Open up draft annual report. Start to enter numbers. Spend the next hour-plus flipping back and forth between multiple spreadsheets, worksheets, and the report. More cursing under my breath. Realize that some of the numbers are spread over multiple different spreadsheets, as the PCC has a different fiscal year than we do (they operate on the government fiscal schedule which starts in Oct.) and some of my reports pulled from our catalog are by calendar year and not fiscal year. Dammit all to hell. I need more coffee to deal with this.

10:50am: Break to check in with staff and check email. Respond to email message from colleague at another institution regarding Provider-Neutral e-monographs and digital reproduction registry programs. Open up OCLC Connexion to view records in question. End up chatting about it via IM rather than multiple emails.

Back to statistics. Create a summary spreadsheet to pull together the statistics from various sources, including stats that were adapted from different date ranges to conform to our fiscal year report cycle.

11:30am: Meet up with a friend and walk to favorite coffee truck for iced coffee. Followed by lunch at my desk. Check email, perform listserv triage (scan and delete), read library-related Twitter feeds and check news blogs.

12:45pm: Sign in for the TechTrends ALA Annual Conference 2010 review webinar. I remembered to shut my office door, but forgot to write on the dry erase dots that I was participating in a webinar. I have no visitors all day, and then as soon as I shut my door, I have two colleagues stop by to talk to me. ::facepalm:: I must remember to make notes on those dots when I need to not be disturbed.

Listened to webinar, while taking notes, as well as monitoring and participating in the official Twitter feed (#TTwebinar) for the session. I might have some minor ADD…or is it “continuous partial attention” these days?

One of my takeaways: There’s an overarching trend that’s all about personalization. Users want to make it what they want to see, not what we want to give them. This extends through all our interfaces, including the catalog and mobile options.

2:05pm: Go track down the two people that wanted to talk to me during the webinar. Call first colleague and get an update on the space in basement we will be moving to for the giant barcoding project. We were in one room, but that room is being converted to rare book storage, so we’ll be moving to another room next month. Several things have to happen before we can relocate, so we are currently in a “temporary” space in the now rare book storage room. Result: I now have too many keys on my office key ring.

Track down second colleague in his office and to discuss OCLC database enrichment activities and what we can and cannot do regarding formats we do not have Enhance/BIBCO authorization for yet.

Stop into tech services director’s office to ask her about a spreadsheet of numbers for collection set cataloging. I work with another colleague to manage and load large sets of MARC records for collections into our catalog. Generally these sets are purchased from vendors or OCLC, and require some editing/massaging before they can be loaded into our catalog. I do the editing using MarcEdit software, and then my colleague does the loading. For subscriptions, I work with her to create a script (using Perl) to perform the edits so she can just “script and load” as updates arrive. I remember seeing a spreadsheet with our numbers, but now I can’t find it in my email. Fortunately our tech services director has it and will email it to me again so I can finish my annual report.

Finally, call yet another colleague to let her know we need her staff (stacks maintenance staff) to pull another group of volumes for the barcoding project. They pull, we barcode the volumes (create item records and update the holdings), and then her staff re-shelve them. Sounds complicated, but it works well. They feed us whatever volumes/titles/call numbers they need barcoded and it also means we stay out of the way of projects up in the stacks.

Yes, this is all part of my week. It is loosely grouped under the category of “workflow and project management.” This category is becoming a larger and larger piece of my job.

2:55pm: Return to statistics and annual report. Plug in final numbers. Write up highlights of changes, workflow enhancements, and Unit accomplishments.

3:55pm: Finally finish report and email it to my supervisor, along with the summary spreadsheet of statistics compiled from 4 different sources.

Review document for individually cataloging titles in an e-book collection that has no collection set option. These titles are cataloged in a different department as part of the copy cataloging workflow. My role is to ensure that we are using the correct standards and coding for all our electronic materials, regardless of format or who is cataloging them. In other words, I try to ensure consistency for all our e-resources cataloging.

4:00pm: Final email check and clean out of the listserv folders. Make to-do notes for tomorrow. Schedule this post.

4:10pm: Log out from network. Shut down (restart) computer. Leave work. I have an errand to run downtown before 5pm.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, librarianship, librarydayinthelife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

