Common sense has left the building

I am convinced that common sense has decided to take a vacation. Or has at least gone out for coffee.

My foray into online dating continues, and wow, I am a bit flabbergasted by some of the things I’ve encountered. You’d think that since this is the third time I’ve tried this I would have been prepared. Um, not so much.

A few things that I consider common sense (and common courtesy):

1. If someone takes the time to send you and email, for goodness’s sake, take the time to write them back. Or use the little easy button most online dating sites provide to send an automated message that you’re not interested. Not replying at all just makes you look like an asshole.

2. Please finish your divorce before signing up for online dating. Or, at the very least, set your relationship status as “separated” rather than “divorced.” Because if your divorce is still in process, YOU ARE NOT SINGLE. Divorced is PAST tense, not current. ::facepalm::

3. Read someone’s profile all the way through. Read their requirements. If you do not fit what I am looking for, please don’t waste my time. I was very specific and selective about what I’m looking for, narrowing it down to the very important deal-breaking elements. I have good reasons for these. For example, I have asthma. Being with a smoker is not in the best interest of my health.

3a. Read someone’s profile all the way through, part deux. I have a cat. She’s a punk but I love her to death. You winking at me to indicate you’re interested, only for me to find out when I check out your profile that you’re deathly allergic to cats and hate them, well, clearly it’s not going to work out between us. Again, please don’t waste my time.

4. Stereotyping me or fixating on one specific thing is really not OK. I am not your fetish. I am not your fantasy of the “sexy librarian.” Please to go away now.

5. Please take the time on your profile to do the following: proper spelling and proper capitalization (all lower case or ALL CAPS are both equally annoying). Also, please fill it out enough that I have some clue about who you are. Filling in the required space with nonsense about how you don’t want to describe yourself or your interests, well, I won’t be contacting you. Your profile is a representation of you. It’s the first filter. Invest some time and effort in it. Making only a half-assed effort doesn’t reflect well on you as a person.

Am I asking too much?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in dating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Common sense has left the building

  1. Anonymous says:

    The narcissistic person is marked by a grandiose self-image, a constant need for admiration, and a general lack of empathy for others…

Leave a Reply

