Online dating…take 3

In the interest of actually getting out of the house with some regularity and meeting someone I might actually want to have a long-term relationship with, I reactivated my online dating profile.

If you’re counting, this is take three for me and online dating. I swear on whatever god/gods/goddesses you want, if this online dating experience becomes the train wreck the previous two times did, well, that’s it. Never again. Three strikes, and online dating will be OUT. I’ll have to go back to asking, err, begging my friends to help a gal out and play matchmaker.

Also, the “creep quotient” is definitely calculable. The inevitable “divorced Catholic with 3 kids” has contacted me, as have “never been to college,” “bad speller,” “types in ALL CAPS ALL THE TIME” (please stop yelling at me…kthxbai), and the “conservative but not narrow” (cough…bullshit…cough) individuals. Yeah. All have been politely told “thanks but NO.” Moving on.

But so far this time things are going better than in the past. Fewer creeps overall. AND I have been on multiple dates. With the same person.

Yeah. Shocking, I know. I can hardly believe it myself. I think that means things are going well. We’re getting to know each other. And yes, I do want to know more, we haven’t run out of things to talk about, and I genuinely enjoy their company, despite (or in spite of?) the personality quirks that have appeared. That’s good, right? No major red flags, just a couple of annoyances. Not that we won’t be talking about at least a few of those personality quirks/annoyances, but still, overall I think it falls on the side of good. There’s potential.

So I’m calling this 3rd round at online dating so far so good. Now I have the difficult task of trying to not think about or over-analyze the dates/person (um…yeah…right…) and just sit back and enjoy the experience and see what develops.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in dating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Online dating…take 3

  1. Anonymous says:

    "conservative but not narrow" Haha. First truthful fat conservative I ever heard of.

Leave a Reply

