Library Day in the Life – Round 4, Day 2

See: http://librarydayinthelife.pbworks.com/ for info on the project. I also participated in the last round in July 2009. You can find all my posts for this project (this round and the last round)by searching the librarydayinthelife tag.

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

6:30am – Up. Shower. Coffee. Discover my left wrist still hurts when I try to bend/twist it. It was really really sore last night, but I had hoped it would be better this morning. Damn. By the way, just to make it more complicated/interesting, I’m left handed. So I take some ibuprofen and dig out the wrist brace from a car accident injury (long since healed) from nearly 8 years ago now. And hope it’s just a sprain. Also, my hair is a mess…it’s very hard to deal with long hair when one wrist is less than cooperative. It’s braided, but the braid is not one of my neater ones and there’s some serious frizz going on.

7:35am – Leave for work. A little later than I should have for the 1 mile walk, but everything this morning took a bit longer than normal with my gimpy left hand. Seriously…I had to have my right hand help me pour the milk!

8:06am – Login to work network. Login to email, calendar, chat, other various programs. Open up Voyager cataloging and acquisitions modules and OCLC Connexion. Read email. Forward and respond to necessary messages. Catch up on news feeds, work email listservs. Scan subjects and then delete mass numbers of listserv messages. Start this post.

8:10am – Drilling noises. Followed by pounding. How nice. Fortunately they are short lived.

8:30am – More emails. We’re in the middle of planning for a very large physical reorganization of our technical services. Pretty much every single staff person is changing desks/cubes. This involves over 60 people. So we’re making lists and checking them twice, and filling out inventory questionnaires, etc. etc.

9:09am – And the drilling is back. As is the pounding. Sigh.

9:35am – CONSER work. A few things to finish up from yesterday.

10:00am-11:30am – Meeting with a colleague from other department to discuss the barcoding project. A few things to figure out, such as determining space needs, but we have a target to begin the joint version of the project by this coming Monday.

11:30am-11:50am – Brief discussion to fill in my boss on the barcoding project and what questions we’re working on at the moment.

11:50am-12:20pm – Deal with some basic staff issues and questions. Email staff about space planning. Managing people can be time consuming.

12:20pm-12:40pm – Email triage. See email informing us that the drilling will be continuing off and on in the mornings for the next month and a half to work on the sprinkler system in the building. Yay.

Respond to email about a collection of MARC records for a set of e-books and what site the initial records were downloaded from. Records were initially available from two sites, but now only from one. There does not, however, appear to be addendum files for updates to the collection posted. Our bibliographer for that collection is looking into why we haven’t received updates or any notifications about record availability (we paid for MARC records for the ebook collection so he’s motivated to find out where the records are).

Sent email to sign up for the Thursday CONSER webinar to follow up on the discussion that occurred at ALA Midwinter.

Open ALCTS e-forum email folder and promptly get completely overwhelmed by the number of messages for current e-forum on “Shifting Technical Services Priorities Meets Evolving Needs of the Institution.” Not sure when I’ll have time to read them all, which is frustrating as it’s a topic I’m interested in hearing about what is being done elsewhere. Always looking for ideas about how to streamline our workflows and deal with new types of formats/materials.

12:40pm-1:20pm – LUNCH. Leftover spicy albondigas soup. And yogurt with ginger(!) flavored honey from the Harmony Acres honey farm in Mikado, MI. Yum.

[side note: given that my left/dominant hand is only semi-functional, and the lack of fine motor skills in my right hand, me trying to do some things today right handed has been downright comical at times. At other times, it’s just sad. For example, I nearly mutilated my orange trying to peel it.]

While eating, check various social software sites. Read through #libday4 feed on Twitter. It’s fascinating to see what other people deal with all day.

1:20pm – More email. More emails about collection sets and where we are in terms of workflow. Naturally the questions are about those sets that have been identified as problems or that need additional work outside of our established workflow. Start email to metadata librarian (who actually does the scripting and loading via the Voyager back end) to schedule meeting to review what’s in process and where.

Also, I am tired of email.

2:00pm-3:30pm – Meeting of the unit heads for my department of technical services. There are four librarians total in my department: 3 unit heads and our department head. We meet weekly to review what’s going on and coordinate actions/duties among the staff in our units.

3:30pm – Email. Again. Clearly this is the theme for the day. Finish and send various draft messages. More triage, collection set questions, and deletion of mass numbers of messages from listservs.

3:50pm – Update calendar. Forced the sync between work calendar software and Google calendar. They don’t play nicely together, so there’s iCal file transferring involved. I do this because I can’t access the work calendar at home easily, but my Google calendar is available anywhere…even on my non-smartphone cell phone.

4:00pm-5:00pm – Check in with staff that are still here. Track down colleague to ask a question. Final check of email.

5:00pm – Close all programs and log out of network. Walk home.

6:15pm – Collapse on couch. Review this post and then publish it to my blog.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, librarianship, librarydayinthelife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

