Library Day in the Life – Day 5

Friday, July 31, 2009

6:30am: Wake up. Shower, prepare lunch and thermos of coffee, give cat small amount of milk as treat and appeasement for the upcoming daily abandonment. Grab granola bar for breakfast (still wary of opening cereal after the ant incident earlier this week). Take trolley into work (rain and I don’t feel like biking in it).

8:10am: Arrive at work.

8:13am: Login to work network. Login to email, calendar, other various and sundry programs. Open up Voyager cataloging and acquisitions modules and OCLC Connexion. Check voice-mail (blinking light). Staff person out sick today. Make note on calendar and update HR spreadsheet accordingly. Other staff person on vacation. Looks like it’s just me today. Pour coffee.

8:23am: Email. Forward and respond to necessary messages. Catch up on news feeds, Tweets (TweetDeck FTW!), work email listservs. Scan subjects and then delete mass numbers of listserv messages. Start this post.

9:00am: Gave tour of library, had coffee, and chatted with a representative from my library school. Nice break to walk around and just talk about where I work and the kinds of things we’re doing here.

10:51am: Back at desk. Check email.

11:23am: Editing and finishing my ALA reports. Must be done by the end of the day today.

11:36am: Look into question from colleague about if something is a title change or not. Yes, in fact, it is. Sigh. Means more work to do for both her and me.

11:47am: Back to editing my reports. Can you tell I can only focus for short periods before I have to take a brief break?

1:02pm: Lunch break. Nearly done with first report (lordy there was a lot of information in that session!), only 6 more to finish! But need to refuel.

1:39pm: Update my Remember the Milk: complete tasks, add new ones. Read comics.

1:58pm: Finish eating. Back to report editing. Wondering how I’ll get them all done today. My rough drafts were really really rough this time and it’s taking much longer than I expected to make them reader-worthy.

2:46pm: Finish second report. Check email. w00t! Email that we can extend my intern’s appointment until the end of the month so she can finish her project!! That means we won’t have to distribute the bits to various people for completion since she’ll have the time to do it! YAY! And I do a happy dance in my chair like the dork I know I am.

2:56pm: Start on editing next report.

4:16pm: Finish third report with a few interruptions during editing by IM chats with colleagues. Send first three off to colleague for next round of editing before publishing and let him know the remaining three will be in his inbox Monday morning. I will have to clean up the remaining rough drafts over the weekend.

4:23pm: Last review of email and deletion of various listserv messages. Log off of various and sundry programs. Schedule the publishing of this post. Shut down (restart) computer. Pack up. Pouring nasty rain. Accept fact that I will be completely soaked even if I take the trolley home just by walking out the door and across the street. Head home anyway, hoping to not discover more wet apartment flooding woes when I get there.

UPDATE (5:39pm): Arrive home, shoes completely soaked through. Inspect apartment. Absolutely NO FLOODING/LEAKS!! w00t!! My apartment is dry. Relief! And bonus, the rain really cooled down the humid heat. 🙂

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in cataloging, librarianship, librarydayinthelife, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

