ALA Annual Conference recap

This years ALA Annual Conference was in Chicago, IL. The good news: I got to stay with my sister. The bad news: I didn’t get to see that much of her because I was so busy!

I’m only getting to this a week late, but at least I’m getting it done this time, right? Right?!? (Lord I’m behind…and I swear the to-do list has a life of it’s own now.)

Sessions attended:

Friday, July 10, 2009
*OCLC Enhance Sharing Session
*ALCTS CCS “Hot Topics” Forum: The Future of MARC

Saturday, July 11, 2009
*ALCTS CRS Policy & Planning Committee meeting (business)
*ALCTS Catalog Form and Function Interest Group discussion: Accentuating the “e-“: Electronic Resources in the Public Catalog
*LITA Standards Interest Group: SERU and NISO update

Sunday, July 12, 2009
*CONSER/BIBCO/SACO-at-Large (I stayed for both CONSER and BIBCO)
*Program for Cooperative Cataloging Participants’ Meeting: The Death of the Document (David Lankes)
*CONSER dinner

Monday, July 13, 2009
*RLG Print Archiving Project
*ALCTS CRS Continuing Resources Cataloging Committee Update Forum

Tuesday, July 14, 2009
*ALCTS CRS Executive Committee meeting (business)

There were many more things I would have liked to have attended, but unfortunately location and time were determining factors. As were conflicts. Seems all the sessions I was really interested in occurred in the same time slots. Lots of tough decisions. And my need to eat lunch played a role as well (feed me regularly or suffer the consequences!). Everything I attended was great, I just wish I could have cloned myself to attend some of the other sessions happening at the same time too!

Hopefully over the next few days (or maybe this weekend) I’ll pull together summaries of the sessions from my notes and post them.

Pics on Flickr: ALA Annual 2009

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in ALA, Chicago IL, conferences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

