Disappointment to the NINth degree

There are few things in life that I would do pretty much anything for. One of those things is to see NIN one more time before Trent Reznor goes on hiatus for an “undetermined” amount of time.

Last June NIN came to Camden, NJ with Jane’s Addiction for the NINJA tour. It was the same weekend as NASIG.

I was responsible and went to the NASIG conference like a good little serials librarian. Using my brain and doing what I “should” do.

I was FOOLISH. Idiotic. Stupid. [feel free to continue to add appropriate synonyms]

So a few weeks ago Trent announces they will be doing a last precious few shows in the US when they get back from Europe. The Wave Goodbye tour.

It was like the universe handed me a second chance on a platter. Especially after the completely hellish June I had. I was excited and blissfully happy for the first time in months. Truly happy at that moment. I vowed to do whatever I could to make one of those shows. Tickets were going on sale Friday, 7/17, at 5pm EST for the shows in NYC.

Well, it turns out the universe was fucking with me.

I was logged in at 10 minutes to 5pm. I was ready. I kept clicking on “buy tickets”. I ended up in the “waiting room” about 3 minutes to 5pm.

And I waited.

And I waited some more.

Finally I get in to buy tickets at about 5 minutes after 5pm (nearly 10 minutes in the “waiting” room). I select a show in NYC (specifically the Bowery show). I select ONE ticket. Just one. That’s all I needed. I plug in the necessary CAPTCHA phrase. I click “Purchase”.

I get this evil message that “there are not enough tickets available at that number. Please select a different (fewer) number of tickets and try again.”

SOLD OUT.

OMFG. Panic! I try another NYC show. And another. Same response over and over.

I try for one of the Chicago shows when I get home (work was closing so I had to leave…no choice, couldn’t sit there until 5pm CST) and can’t even get to the NIN tour page. So no Chicago show either.

ALL the NYC and Chicago shows are sold out. And Trent has made it clear that he will not be adding any additional shows. That this is truly it. And I honestly cannot afford to go one of the shows in LA.

I am seriously so upset that I start crying. I’M NOT GOING TO GET TO SEE NIN. Possibly ever again. And it was partially my fault for being so fucking responsible and doing what I “should” do by going to a work conference instead of seeing NIN this past June.

NIN is so much more than “just a band” for me. Way more. A friend once described me seeing a show as a kind of religious experience for me, and they are right. NIN’s music touches my soul, reaches all those deep down dark places you never let anyone see. The music has gotten me through so much shit in my life since Pretty Hate Machine (halo 2) came out way back in 1989 I can’t even begin to tell you (I wore that tape out three times and then I bought the CD). And I’m missing the Wave Goodbye tour. I can’t stand it. What the fuck did I do to deserve this? My life has been hell recently and the additional tour dates actually made me excited about something again. And I can’t get tickets. It’s like the world just crashed in. I needed to get a ticket to one of these shows on so many levels. And unless some miracle occurs, it’s not going to happen.

Universe, GO TO HELL. I HATE YOU RIGHT NOW WITH EVERY FIBER OF MY BEING FOR FUCKING WITH ME LIKE THIS. You already ripped my heart out once this summer, why did you have to do it again?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in music, Nine Inch Nails. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

