Worst. week. EVER.

Let’s review the last week:

Monday: returned home from NASIG in the middle of the night. Got up at 8am to go pick up dog from the dogsitter. Realized (through no fault of the dogsitter…they did everything right), that my dog has given up and is refusing to eat and throwing up everything she tries to eat or drink.

Tuesday: spend the day crying and snuggling with my baby dog. That evening I take my dog to the vet to have her put to sleep. I know I made the right decision, but my heart is broken and I am a complete mess. RIP, Aussie. I love you my baby dog, my heart, my love. You will be missed.

Wednesday: not ready to face people. I work from home. Get surprising amount of work done via remote desktop and chat. Nonetheless, my day is interrupted by periodic breakdowns and crying fits. Fortunately the cat doesn’t care that I am a puffy-eyed red-nosed mess.

Thursday: go back to work at office. At home I have small war with Windows Easy Transfer to transfer files from old computer to new computer. Three times FAIL.

Friday: work. After work I start the file transfer yet again (almost successful this time, the 4th try, but it lost the connection so didn’t complete…partial FAIL). Head down the street to watch the Stanley Cup Finals game 7 with a friend on her porch with some beer, chocolate and pretzels. Watch a very disappointing game (I’m a Red Wings fan and they just didn’t play like themselves), and then have nice chat over beers with my friend for several hours. Much needed downtime and chilling.

At 2pm-ish I head home. Find my front door is open and unlocked. WTF? Turns out someone broke in. They jimmied and ultimately busted the lock on my TINY basement bedroom window and wiggled in. ARE YOU F*CKING KIDDING ME?! I’m not sure I could fit through that window. Call police at 2:30am. Call and wake up the property manager (landlord’s neice). She tells me they found a 40oz and a backpack on the porch when they came down at 12:30ish am which they threw in the trash. They had been out on the porch until 11:30ish, so in that hour span, the kid broke into my apartment and tossed much of my bedroom. They then left through my front door (out through the kitchen upstairs). Dammit. Wait two hours for police to show up (WTF?) due to some confusion that my apartment is the REAR entrance. Again, are you f*cking kidding me? File police report. Kid apparently came back for the backpack, but the 40oz is still in the trash can. It is now after 5am and I have been up for nearly 24 hours.

Discover that this wasn’t the brightest theif. I figure it was a kid who got interrupted by my neighbors coming downstairs (you can hear them coming down the stairs in my apartment). All they got was my high school class ring and a bottle of really good beer from Quebec. Not the iPod sitting on the kitchen counter. Not the laptop(s). Just the ring and the beer. Not the jewelry from the ex-boyfriend, but my class ring. Damn. Why couldn’t they have taken the jewelry from the ex-boyfriend or my non-digital non-HD tv? Seriously.

So I hereby declare this past week the worst week ever. What god/goddess did I piss off and how do I make amends? And I think karma now owes me BIG. SO BIG. Wouldn’t you agree?

Sigh.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worst. week. EVER.

  1. the Quebec beer I gave you?!?! Little Shite Thief.

Leave a Reply

