Human power

I’ve pretty much stopped using my car. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Subaru Forester (no, they’re not paying me for that), but I’m finding I just don’t need it. I’m seriously considering selling it and going car-less.

To that end, I’ve become fascinated by bikes. I have a great bike. It’s been a great bike for almost 10 years now. I’ve taken good care of it, and it’s done well by me. Recently I outfitted it with some collapsible pannier baskets for running errands. Now I can do grocery runs and transport stuff that I couldn’t fit in a backpack.

But I still have one problem: the pets. Granted, I can put the cat in her carrier and strap her to my rack. This may not be the best option, and she may kill me in my sleep for it, but it’s possible. I don’t necessarily need a car to take her places as she’s small and portable. The dog, on the other hand, not so much. Her kennel is nearly larger than my bike. And there’s no way I could balance her on the bike with me. Basically I have to get one of those cargo trailers, but they’re expensive.

Then a friend linked to this on Facebook: Madsen Cycles. They have a bike-trailer combo. I am intrigued. And right now they have this contest going to give away two free bike-trailer combo bikes. So help a girl out and click on the banner below…and let me know in the comments if you want the second bike if I win!

Madsen Cycles Cargo Bikes

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in biking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

