Need a morning do-over

My morning:

Woke up by neighbors doing jumping jacks and running stairs at 5:30am. OK, not sure if that’s exactly what they were doing, but it sure sounded like it to me from the noise coming through my ceiling.

Woke up second time at 5 minutes to 7:00am. LATE. Discovered I turned off alarm in half-awake stupor at 5:30am.

Quick shower. Decide hair can go another day before washing (joys of long hair!).

Nearly trip over cat in rush to go get dressed. Get yelled at by cat in response.

Get dressed for bike ride into work, throw work clothes into bag. Hope I picked out matching socks.

Coax dog up out of dog bed and help her up the stairs.

Discover that it’s raining. Damn. Go back downstairs to retrieve rain gear for bike ride.

Go into kitchen to let dog out. Discover small army of ants (scouting party?) is marching across my counter.

Let dog out.

Spend 10 minutes killing ants and putting down natural repellent so as not to kill pets.

Let dog in and dry her off.

Pack lunch. Feed dog. Spend 10 minutes coaxing dog to eat more of her breakfast.

Kill a few more ants.

Realize I forgot my watch/rings/earrings. Go back downstairs to bedroom and retrieve.

Put coffee in thermos. Kill more ants (where are they coming from?).

Figure out where ants are coming from and put down line of repellent.

Pack up backpack with lunch/clothes/etc.

Chase cat down and take away Styrofoam packing peanut she’s playing with/trying to eat. Get yelled at by her for taking away her “toy/snack”.

Spend a few minutes trying to determine where she found said Styrofoam packing peanut. Give up.

Chase cat away from dog food. Try to convince dog to eat a little more. Success!

Put dog in kennel.

Make sure bucket and trash cans are in correct location to catch drips from leak in kitchen ceiling.

Put on rain gear and backpack. Put on bike helmet.

Discover front tire on bike is low on air. Remove helmet. Remove backpack. Hope that air loss isn’t due to slow-leaking flat and inflate tire.

Pick up stuff and walk out door. LATE.

Lock door.

Discover that bike helmet is still inside. Curse. Seriously consider giving up on day and just going back to bed.

Unlock door. Retrieve helmet. Leave second time, re-lock door.

Bike ride into work in rain. Nearly get taken out by van turning left in front of me. Taxi cabs are evil and I spend much of my ride NOT in the bike lane because taxi cabs obviously believe they are for loading/unloading fares. At one point have bike lane blocked by poorly parked GIANT SUV and taxi cab. Curse.

Arrive at work. Sweaty from rain gear and evasive bike maneuvers on ride in. Yick.

YAY matching socks!

Get to desk only 20 minutes late. w00t! Go me!

Log-on, open email. Discover I’m attending a meeting for something I know absolutely nothing about. WTF? Will ask boss for clarification shortly.

Finally get to drink coffee and eat banana And hope and pray the day improves.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

