Workshop lessons

With all the change going on at work, I’ve been so flustered, flummoxed, mildly frustrated, and frazzled that I’ve been distracted. Between the stress and anxiety of wondering what’s going to happen and how it’s all going to turn out, I’ve lost sight of why I do what I do. It took teaching the SCCTP Integrating Resources Cataloging workshop for OHIONET this past Thursday to remind me of that important fact. I remembered why I work in libraries:

I love cataloging.

Really. I know for many of you, that means my sanity is questionable. But I really do love it. The often convoluted rules, the idiosyncrasies, even the idiotic aspects, I love all of it. It makes sense in my brain in a very weird way. Teaching other people about how to catalog something reminded me how much I enjoy cataloging.

While I hope the workshop attendees learned something, what I took away I think was equally as valuable. The reminder couldn’t have come at a better time. I really needed it.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in librarianship, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

