Feeling her pain

My baby dog is in pain today. Aussie is nearly 13, and being a long backed dog, she’s got some arthritis in her back and hips and hind feet. Most days you wouldn’t know. But Aussie has bad days.

Today is one of those bad days. She’s in pain. She’s having a hard time walking. Lifting her head is painful for her as well. She’s not interested in her breakfast. She’s shaking. All she wants to do is lie down. But due to the pain, she’s lying in unusual and awkward positions. She’s hiding in her kennel, trying to find comfort by hiding in her space. And she keeps coming to me, looking to me to take away her pain.

I don’t know what triggers her bad days. Yesterday wasn’t unusual. All I can do is give her the Rimadyl (doggie aspirin, liver flavored) and wait. Wait for the drugs to kick in. Wait for her to be herself again.

Watching her in pain makes me hurt. I can’t stand it. I want to fix it, but I know I can’t. It kills me that I can’t make the pain go away for her. I’m dreading the day when this becomes the norm for her.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Aussie, dog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling her pain

  1. Poor pup. I hope she feels better soon.

  2. Catechresis says:

    Oh, babe. I wish there was a magic forever pill. If I had one, I’d give it to Aussie. I’d even cut my own life shorter by a few years if it meant giving her a long and pain-free life. She knows how much you love her. I guess sometimes that just has to be enough. But I hate watching the two of you be in pain. Especially from all the way over here.

Leave a Reply

