Not laziness, but rather mindfulness

I had plans for the weekend. Productive plans. Things to accomplish. Good intentions to get all this extra stuff done. Lists to cross things off of.

My plans were initially waylaid by a snuggly dog and cat that made for lazy mornings. It’s amazingly difficult to get up when the dog has crawled up onto the bed next to you and snuggled up close, snoring gently near your shoulder. Especially when the cat curls up on the other side of you and you can feel the gentle vibration of her purr by your knees. And there was that Saturday afternoon nap with the cat in the sun.

So my productive weekend became a lazy weekend. And I’m OK with that. I think we all need lazy weekends every now and then. Where we don’t worry about the dishes in the sink, or the dust on the side table. Get the necessary stuff done, and not worry about the rest. We just pause and enjoy the moment, being mindful of where we are and what we’re doing.

That mindfulness is something I’m working on. Being in the moment, and not thinking about what’s coming next. Just being aware of what I’m doing at that very moment. And it’s not just for when you’re doing nothing, but also when you’re doing anything and everything. It’s kind of an active meditation. Focusing on the activity at hand and not thinking about other things. Focus on doing the dishes. Focus on cooking your dinner. Focus on walking, or the act of breathing. Don’t think about what you have to do next, and after that, and after that.

It’s harder than you think.

I was calling this weekend a lazy weekend, when I realized that rather than being lazy, I was mindful of each thing I did. I didn’t get as much done (the to-do list is still there), but nothing I had planned to do was critical, so why was I so intent on getting all this stuff done? Instead, by being mindful of each thing I was doing, I had a wonderfully relaxing weekend. I don’t feel guilty. A good chunk of my stress has melted away. So I’m no longer calling this a lazy weekend. Rather, it was a weekend of mindfulness. I got done what needed to get done, and was able to enjoy each activity. Including doing the dishes, which is my least favorite chore, AND snuggling with the pets, which is one of my favorite things ever. Mindfulness is a beautiful thing, when I can do it successfully. And this weekend is an example of success. I hope I have more days like this weekend.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life, mindfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

