More than just groceries

A few months ago, shortly after I moved to my current apartment, I went grocery shopping on a Sunday afternoon at a store a bit farther away than my “normal” store. There’s nothing wrong with my neighborhood store, but it’s small and doesn’t have some of the specialty items I periodically need or want (for example their cereal selection is limited). So now and then I need to go to a larger store with more options. There’s one grocery store in particular over near the pet supply store that I really like that has excellent variety. I combine my errands and get both dog food and people food in one trip.

The store was exceptionally busy that afternoon, and it was a rather long wait at the deli counter. People were impatient, several people cut ahead of me in line, but I was in no hurry so I just waited and decided that it was no big deal. The people behind the deli counter (a guy and a woman) were chatty, and were really pleasant with me, probably because I wasn’t impatient or short with them (pleasantness begets pleasantness, you know). I didn’t think anything of it.

I should have paid more attention.

About 15 minutes later, while standing in the dressing aisle trying to pick out a couple of new salad dressings (again with the excellent variety), someone walks up behind me and says: “Hey cutie-pie!” Yes, he called me cutie-pie.

I nearly jumped out of my skin. I turned around to see the guy from the deli counter. He was on break. “Hi,” I stammered back once I had remembered how to breathe. Next thing I know we’re engaged in conversation. I think I was too stunned to escape before he starts asking me a few questions (name, are you single, why haven’t I seen you here before, etc.), continuing to call me cutie-pie throughout the conversation, and then hands me a piece of paper with his name and phone number on it and tells me to call him sometime if I would be interested in having dinner or a drink with him. He then says he has to get back to his shift and walks away.

After he left, I dawns on me what had just happened. I was picked up in the grocery store by the deli guy. He tracked me down in the store on his break to give me his phone number.

OMG. Of course nothing ever came of it because I’m not all that interested in dating right now (my life is complicated enough). And then I realized I can never shop at that store again. Dammit.

Recently I decided to tempt fate and go back to that store (I hadn’t been back yet). Again, I was in the vicinity picking up pet supplies and I needed a few things. But since I didn’t need anything from the deli counter, I decided to go for it and hope and pray I didn’t run into him because I didn’t feel like explaining myself and admittedly felt a bit guilty I didn’t say “no” when it all went down. I was too startled to escape gracefully at the time. Fortunately, I didn’t see him and escaped the store without incident. I don’t know if I’ll tempt fate a second time.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in dating, random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More than just groceries

  1. Ha! That is hilarious. Found your site through Amateur Gourmet – fun stories on here!

Leave a Reply

