My new cat

Introducing the newest member of my four legged furry family: Capri.

Pretty kitty close-up

She’s a tortoiseshell, about 1 1/2 years old. The kennel Aussie goes to found her when she was around 5 months old. They spayed her, got her all the necessary shots and tests, and put her up for adoption in a cage in their main office. I saw her for the first time last May, when she was about a year old. She had been living in their office for over 6 months at that point. When she still hadn’t been adopted in August, I crumbled. In mid-September I drove out to the kennel and brought Capri home. It’s been 3 1/2 years since my cat Snip passed away, and when I couldn’t get Capri out of my head, I knew it was time to get another cat.

It’s been an adjustment. It’s been over 15 years since I had a kitten in the house, for one. Fortunately, Capri likes dogs, and since Aussie was raised with my first cat, Snip (also a tortoiseshell), she accepted Capri’s presence quickly. But since Capri had only lived either as a stray or in a cage in an office, she had no idea what life in a home was like. It took a good week before she’d come out of hiding in the bookshelves (that space behind the books on the bottom shelf is ideal for hiding). It took another week after that before she’d let me touch her. I’ve had to adjust to having my toes attacked at 2am (silly me for moving in my sleep) and training myself to watch for cat toys (I’ve already crushed one ball by stepping on it and almost falling in the process).

Now, two months in, Capri has made herself at home. I’ve learned she LOVES treats. Specifically the kind that are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Catnip has no effect on her (WTF?). And she loves toys that make noise (little mice, balls that jingle, etc.). Capri is a talker, proving to be quite the mouthy cat. She’s learning to like being brushed, but clipping her nails is a battle that involves wrapping her in a towel in a futile attempt at protecting myself from getting scratched.

Lounging comfortably on the back of the couch


Today we made our first trip to the vet. It took me a good 15 minutes to catch her and stuff her in the carrier. I almost had her once, but the dog decided to “help” and Capri escaped. Eventually I caught her again and we made it to the vet with minimal damage to my person (a few scratches, but nothing severe). She got all her boosters, and has been given a clean bill of health. She’s also been microchipped, which I highly recommend. We’ll see how long it takes her to forgive me for the injustices she suffered today.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Capri, cat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My new cat

  1. Jon says:

    What’s microchipped?

  2. Shana Lee says:

    Microchipping is an identification method. It’s a tiny little passive RFID chip inside a case that’s about the size of a grain of rice. It’s usually placed under the skin between the shoulder blades.Each chip has a unique number that is registered in a database with your contact information. If you pet gets lost, the shelter scans for the microchip number and notifies the company, who returns with your contact info. And you get your pet back! About 94% of microchipped pets actually get returned to their owners.It’s a small investment for peace of mind.

  3. As cats mature they become more susceptible to the effects of cat nip. I’d give the kitten a year or two and try again!

Leave a Reply

