Back in the saddle

Literally back in the bike saddle this morning for my ride into work. I’m recovering fine from my little encounter with the trolley tracks, although I admit to some trepidation when crossing over the rails on my way to work this morning.

My left knee, on the other hand, is still a bit cranky about it all. I think it twisted a bit when I went down and landed on it, aggravating a very old ligament strain that never quite healed. I spent most of Friday working (yay for remote desktop) with my leg propped up on a couple of boxes so I could ice my knee and taking regular doses of ibuprofen. Who knew that unpacked boxes of books would prove to be so useful? They were the perfect height for a leg prop. Despite limping around the house like a lame duck, I got a surprising amount of work done (troubleshooting-r-us…er…me!), including catching up on some professional reading that was piled up before I moved and had continued to grow in the past two weeks.

But I’ll be wearing long pants or capri pants for the next week or so while my skinned and bruised legs heal. Skinned knees are fine for a 10 year old…but not so attractive on a 32 year old.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in biking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the saddle

  1. Anonymous says:

    Glad you’re healing! Yeah– I still have my own issues with getting into certain types of car, courtesy of my own little “accident…” Wait– you were there, too! (catechresis)

Leave a Reply

