Danger defined

This morning as I was walking to get my coffee, I noticed a “coming soon” sign in the storefront across from the back entrance to my library. There used to be a jewler there. It was a family run jewler, been there for years and years, and finally everyone decided to retire and close up shop. I had been wondering what was going to take over that space, since it’s prime real estate being right across the street from the main part of campus. Well, now I know.

The Naked Chocolate Cafe.

This is not good. Not. Good. At. All.

And not because the Naked Chocolate Cafe isn’t good. It’s very very good. Too good. I’ve waxed poetic about just how good it is in previous posts, referring to trips there as heavenly chocolate orgasms. They make this incredible European style drinking chocolate: hot chocolate so thick that you have to keep stirring it with your spoon so it doesn’t solidify. And it’s actually easier to eat their hot chocolate than to drink it.

Having a place like that across the street is dangerous. Because nothing says stress release like chocolate. And it’s going to be across the street from the back door to my library. It will be way way too easy to pop across the street during a 15 minute afternoon break for a bit of indulgence. I already know I do not possess the willpower to resist something like that. A place like that across the street from work is danger defined indeed. I’m going to have to start going on extra long bike rides on the weekends to work off all the chocolate I will be consuming once it opens.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in chocolate. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Danger defined

  1. Lori says:

    Wow, this is bad. Will they be open by the time I visit? 😉

  2. Catechresis says:

    Well… you could always just send whatever you buy to ME…

Leave a Reply

