Clever puppy

Well, not that clever. Because she made herself sick. But the process of making herself sick involved a great degree of cleverness.

I’ve talked about how smart my dog is before. Well, if you didn’t believe me, you will now. Last night I ran an errand. Aussie didn’t like this. I came home, and then left again. So, she decided to be a bad dog. I had a box of chocolates (a variety pack) sitting in the middle of my dining room table. I use the term “dining room table” loosely since all it is at the moment is a folding table and chairs, but it is what it is. And the chocolates were in the middle of the table, where I thought they were out of dog reach. They’ve been there for weeks and she’s ignored them. I figured she might not even know they were there.

I was wrong. She was just biding her time.

I came home from my errand to find little bits of foil wrappers on the living room floor. And the torn up box under the coffee table. Aussie had pulled the chair out from the table, and used it to get to the box of chocolates sitting in the middle of the table.

The torn up box

She didn’t eat very many chocolates, but she did eat at least 5 of them. Just enough to make her sick. We were up all night with her upset stomach/gastrointestinal system.

And I’ll be dammed if there weren’t little bits of foil wrappers (guess she didn’t manage to get them fully unwrapped like she normally does) in her poo this morning. Hopefully that means we’re past the worst of the upset tummy.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Aussie, dog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clever puppy

  1. oof, dogs and chocolate… what is it with that?hope aussie feels better soon!

  2. katia says:

    sorry, forgot to say I tagged you for a meme.

Leave a Reply

