Annoyed

I’m annoyed. And not at or with something or someone in particular. I’m annoyed in general. Little things are driving me up the wall. I offer a laundry list of annoyances:

*It took my landlady a week to get back to me about the leaky window. It has rained since I first reported it last Friday. And yes, the window leaked again. She and the handyman (yes, the one I refuse to deal with unless either she or her partner supervise him) came by to fix the problem today. If this repair is like the other ones, I’m not holding my breath.

*Last night the ice cream truck that circulates around the neighborhood stayed in one spot for OVER TWO HOURS while continuously playing that damn music. And it was parked only about two doors down. Even with the TV turned way up I couldn’t escape the music. I thought I was going to lose my mind. If I have to hear “Do your ears hang low” one more time…

*I send emails and leave voice messages with people advertising apartments that seem to disappear into the ether. I want to see your place so I can possibly give you money, so why won’t you return my messages?! I don’t get it.

*I can’t manage to actually complete anything. I keep getting interrupted with something else that demands attention at that moment, and inevitably before I finish the “new” task, there’s another one interrupting me.

*Drivers seem to be exceptionally rude. I had one honk at me yesterday before speeding by so close the breeze from the vehicle unsettled me…on a one way road with two lanes. I guess they were too lazy to change lanes to go around me, the chick on the bike riding uphill. Today I had one speed up to pass me so they could turn right directly in front of me. Of course, they had to stop at the red light first. And I had to basically slam on my breaks (not easy to do on a bike) to keep from hitting the side of their car. Then they yelled at me to be careful. WTF?!?

And this is the short list. I could go on.

When you add up all the little annoyances, I end up just generally annoyed at the world.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Annoyed

  1. Good Post. I’m such a bullet point girl too.Now if only I could get a bulletproof soul, no more annoyances for me. Whoopi.

Leave a Reply

