It’s baack!

The leak that is. The same window in the dining room that I had problems with last fall is now leaking again. If you remember, in October I came downstairs one morning to find a ceiling tile on top of the dog kennel in that corner. And I had water that was coming in at the top of the window as well. They resealed the roof with some roofing tar, and caulked around the window on the inside. We thought that fixed the problem.

Well, the caulking didn’t hold. On Friday I had water coming down the inside of my window when it was bucketing rain. It appears to be coming in where the window frame meets the house. The seal just isn’t very good and the caulk didn’t fix it. I don’t know if the problem is limited to the seal around the window or if there’s more going on. So once again I have everything out of that corner. Just in case. Aussie doesn’t need more tiles falling on her kennel or water from the window leak splashing into her kennel and soaking her bedding. She’s perturbed that her “room” has been moved to a location where she can’t see the front door and her ability to survey the entire first floor is limited, but oh well.

It rained all day today and the rag towels I have draped on the windowsill and on the floor around the radiator (which is right below the window) are damp again. So the window is clearly leaking again. Now I’m just waiting for the ceiling to fall down so I know if the roof has issues this time or if it’s limited to the window. Let’s hope it’s just the window.

I think this place is starting to fall down around my ears. Good thing it’s a rental. I think it’s time to move to a new place, don’t you agree?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in house, leak. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

