Re-learning a lesson

So I’m up in NYC for the weekend with my dog staying with my friend CH. He’s gracious enough to let me crash on his futon. Actually, I think it’s all about my dog, and he just puts up with me to see her. Figures. The purpose of this trip is to see my friend EH and meet his fiancee. It’s also nice to spend some time and hang out with CH as we’re both so busy that it doesn’t happen very often.

Anyway, last night we met up with a couple of his friends for dinner at Great Jones Cafe. They have excellent cajun style food like gumbo and jambalaya. Their pulled pork sandwich was fantastic. So were the crayfish we split as an appetizer.

We also had margaritas. Good margaritas. Tequila and I don’t generally get long, to the point that I had a no tequila rule for 2007 (the result of a night involving too many tequila shots). But, since they’re known for their margaritas, I figured I’d give it a try and just not go overboard. No shots. Just a couple of nice margaritas (stopping at two).

Mistake. Big big mistake.

I have now re-learned my lesson. NO TEQUILA. Ever. It’s not about how much tequila I drink. It doesn’t matter, it’s going to make me sick/nauseous.

I’m not going to forget again. This is not a lesson I particularly want to keep re-learning.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in drinks, food, friendship, New York City, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

