Observation

People do not, I repeat, do NOT walk in a straight line. Least of all when they have their cell phone glued to their ear or are trying to text and walk at the same time. They weave all over the place, completely unaware of their surroundings. It’s bad enough that in England they’re padding lampposts to prevent injuries (see this article from early March). But even without the focus on their cell phone people don’t walk in a straight line.

Trying to bike these days is like biking through an obstacle course. Everyone is outside enjoying the spring weather despite the high pollen counts. Which is making biking interesting. Seriously, people, LOOK UP periodically when texting or talking on the phone and be a bit more aware of your surroundings and the people in them. LOOK UP when paths are merging or before stepping off the curb. Didn’t you learn in kindergarten to look both ways before crossing the street?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

