All eyes on us

Never mind that it’s Earth Day, it’s the Pennsylvania primary today. And if you watch/read the news, you’d assume that’s far more important than little old Earth Day. I don’t think I could have forgotten to vote today if I’d tried. It’s everywhere. The papers, signs stuck up anywhere and everywhere, the news (both local and national), blogs, etc. You can’t escape it.

This whole presidential election has been like this. It’s been everywhere and a near daily topic for a year and a half now. And we still have a little over 6 months to go. I don’t remember a presidential campaign season being this long before. And frankly, I’m sick of it.

I’ve always been an informed voter. I read up on the candidates and other ballot measures up for the vote, and make my decisions. It’s the in your face push of this election that’s getting to me. I don’t need it stuffed down my throat. Not to mention that if I got all my information from the news and didn’t do any of my own research and reading, I’d be grossly misinformed.

I’m not sure what I’m looking forward to more…election day in November so this campaign will be over, or Bush’s last day in office so his entire farce of a term will be over.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in elections, Philly, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All eyes on us

  1. e says:

    Like you, I have grown weary of the longest campaign season in recent political history. While I have grown tired of everything going on, I have also had to stop and realize that we are really in a very unique situation. This is the first time in many, many years where a primary campaign is so close. I am personally excited that my vote will still matter and only a handful of states have determined my party’s candidate. My only concern is how this affects the Democratic position on fundraising as we near the general election. I don’t mean this as a criticism but I said the same thing to someone else the other day, all of the ads and get out the vote efforts are not for us. They are not for the people who always vote or seek alternative sources of information. They are for the people who have given up on the electoral process, are undecided, or have never voted before. Personally, I have changed my mind at least 4 times in the last 9 months on who I would vote, so I almost appreciate the flood of information. It is almost refreshing after many years of diminishing political analysis.While the campaign news does overshadow Earth Day, Zimbabwe or how many soldiers have died today in Iraq, who we nominate as our candidate is critical in addressing those issues. I project a close general election, so I want the best candidate entering the convention. I think it is cool and exciting that so many people are registering and voting for the first time.

  2. Shana says:

    I’m all for voting. I’ve never not voted. I was pissed off that I couldn’t vote when I was 11 years old. And I think it’s wonderful that people are registering to vote for the first time and actively participating. And I think it’s wonderful that the election is close and exciting and is a “real” election/contest.But when the election coverage overshadows local news like the recent string of beatings, some resulting in deaths, by youths in broad daylight on the subway, I get irritated. Yes, who will be our Democratic candidate is important, but I’d also like to be informed about the things that affect my personal safety on a daily basis. There needs to be a bit more balance in the news coverage because there is more going on than just an election. That’s all I’m sayin’.

Leave a Reply

