Things that keep you up at night

Well, things that keep my grandmother up anyway. My mom called me tonight to let me know my grandmother was staying up nights worrying. Worrying about what, you ask?

Whether there were enough plots at the cemetery all next to each other for the entire family so we’d be together.

Yes, I’m serious.

She counted the number of people, and the number of plots we have, and then was staying up at night worrying about the numbers matching up correctly.

These are the kinds of things in my family that necessitate multiple international phone calls and extensive negotiations and agreements/commitments from all family members. She needed us to confirm whether or not we still wanted to be buried there. So she’d know where we were going to be, to be able to “place” us somewhere [side note: in the interest of being able to place us in her mind, she has a photo album that has pictures of every house/apartment I’ve ever lived in…I’m up to 14 now]. But the worrying is now over. All is well.

I love my family.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

