Mmmm…pancakes!

My friends JM and TP came to Philly with their daughter E for brunch this morning. JM and I share a birthday (but different years) and we’ve always gone out for lunch or something to celebrate. Well, now that we live in different states, that wasn’t an option, so it got postponed until brunch today. Happy belated birthday to us!

Brunch is one of my favorite meals. I love breakfast. We used to have breakfast for dinner sometimes growing up. But when I first wake up in the morning, I don’t want a big meal quite yet. So brunch ends up being a perfect time in the day for me to really enjoy the breakfast food. Not to mention I love pancakes and despite all my dad’s instruction, I just can’t seem to make them successfully. So the only time I get to eat them is when I go out for brunch.


My friend KS told me about this place here in Philly that is known for it’s brunch: Honey’s Sit ‘n Eat. It describes itself as Jewish soul food. I’m not sure what Jewish soul food is, but the food at Honey’s is AMAZING. Absolutely delicious. I can’t wait to go back and try other things on the menu.


Today I had the whole wheat pancakes stuffed with granola, bananas, strawberries, and blueberries. And a side of bacon (just because bacon is good). The pancakes were huge. Two pancakes in the order, and they are practically the size of dinner plates! And thick with all the stuffing. They came with syrup only, and that’s really all they needed. They were so light and fluffy, and soaked up all the delicious syrup. And filling. I actually shared them with JS and TP because otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to finish them! The fruit wasn’t all mushy (mushy fruit is not good eats), but it was definitely warm and cooked through while still retaining the texture of the original fruit. And the granola added a nice nutty flavor to the pancake batter. Especially with the sesame seeds and sunflowers in it. I could go on and on about those pancakes. Instead, I offer up this picture of the yumminess (which doesn’t do it justice…trust me…DELICIOUS!):

Whole wheat pancakes stuffed with granola and fruit. YUM!


Oh. The bacon was good too. Perfect combination of crispy and chewy. JM went for the French toast, made with challah bread. She said it was light and fluffy and very tasty. It smelled delicious. TP had an omelette with a latke on the side. And not just any omelette, but one with bacon, bacon, and yet more bacon. Yes, a triple bacon omelette. And he said it was quite tasty. E had her own pancake and ate most of it, which as anyone that has a toddler knows, is not typical for mealtime. It’s high praise that she ate so much of it! TP and JM had some of the fresh squeezed orange juice (there’s an old fashioned juicer behind the bar so you know it’s really fresh) and said it was fantastic. We also had coffee, which was quite good.

I so have to go back to Honey’s sooner rather than later. The only downside is that there is definitely a long wait for brunch on the weekends, so either eat a light breakfast or bring a small snack for while you wait. Oh, and they’re cash only, so make sure you bring at least $15 for brunch plus coffee and a tip. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. We didn’t lack for coffee refills and they were very patient about having to pick up the forks E dropped on the floor and more than willing to bring us extra cutlery and extra napkins. I definitely recommend this place. Honey’s definitely met my expectations for a delicious brunch.

Afterwards, we headed over to the Please Touch Museum so E could run off some energy. They had story time and jugglers today, both of which just entranced her. She even participated in story time, making animal sounds along with the reader quite happily. The jugglers were great, using the audience at random moments to help during their act. Overall, a great Sunday with friends.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, Philly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

