Idiot moment

I had an idiot moment today.

The entire time I’ve lived in this place (a little over a year and a half), I’ve felt like my kitchen was dark. There’s no direct sunlight, I have to have a light on even in the middle of the day to really see what I was doing. I’ve tried those pop lights under the (few) wall cabinets to provide more light. I’ve seriously considered putting a desk lamp on the counter. Because my kitchen has one small light fixture in the center of the room. Well, technically a bit off center, but still, just one. One of those double bulb with a glass bowl cover generic fixtures. And my kitchen was just not a bright room.

Today the bulb burnt out. I flipped the switch and pop! No more light. Lucky for me the sun hadn’t set yet, so while the kitchen bulb was out, I could still see enough to be able to change the bulbs in the fixture via the little bit of light filtering down between the row homes and through my window.

So I removed the glass bowl cover and lo and behold! discovered that I’ve had only ONE BULB this entire time. One single 100 watt bulb to light my entire kitchen. No wonder the room was so dimly lit.

*facepalm*

I replaced the single bulb with two high-efficiency 60 watt bulbs. And let there be light. It’s almost too bright…I can see the dirt on the floor now.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in embarrassment, house. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Idiot moment

  1. we had a similar ‘pop’ happen the other day… only it was the picture tube on the t.v. Good thing we only used the t.v. to watch DVDs, and good thing we can watch DVDs on the computer. sigh.

  2. Shana says:

    OK, that SUCKS. And while it’s good you can still watch DVDs on the computer, computer screens aren’t really conducive for “group viewings.” That and the sound on my computer isn’t all that great.

Leave a Reply

