Rude awakening

At 4am this morning I was awakened by a crash. Specifically the crash of glass breaking. As I lay there, I heard another crash. Now, Monday is trash day, so my first thought was “what s.o.b. is throwing out glass at 4am!?”. So I got up to take a look and possibly yell at them (it’s 4am!). But I was wrong. It was nothing so benign as trash being tossed out, rather, it was drama.

Apparently one of my neighbors across the street and his girlfriend(?) had a fight. As I looked out my window, I watched her, in a black coat with the hood up, carrying two white plastic bags, pace briefly in front of his house, muttering about how he’s wrong and she’ll get him back. She then put down her bags, walked up onto the porch, kicked the front door, and smashed in the front window! She then left the porch, picked up her bags, and walked up the street, all the while muttering to herself about how he’ll be sorry and how she’ll be back and a bunch of other stuff I couldn’t hear. Well then. I think it’s safe to assume that she’s quite pissed off.

Now, given that it was 4am, I honestly thought I had dreamed the entire thing. I did manage to fall back asleep until my alarm went off a little over an hour later. It wasn’t until I left the house this morning to go to work and saw that instead of a front window my neighbor now had a piece of plywood that I realized it really happened.

This is the most drama my neighborhood has seen in a good long while. Why the drama always has to happen in the middle of the night when I have to get up early for work is anyone’s guess. Next time, do you think we can schedule it for the afternoon?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in neighborhood, Philly, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rude awakening

  1. Catechresis says:

    Given your track record, I think we can just be glad it’s someone else’s drama, K?

Leave a Reply

