Time off

I’m taking a mini-vacation this coming weekend (complete with days off work!) and heading to my previous-city-of-residence to visit friends and relax.

True to form, only the truly important stuff is planned: where I’m staying, and the food. We know where we’re eating for which meal on which day. It’s all mapped out. We have our priorities, you know. On the menu is an Indian lunch buffet, cupcakes, good martinis, sticky toffee pudding, coffee, a vegetarian/vegan diner, and possibly Mexican food. I’m going to gain 10 pounds by the end of the weekend, I swear.

I’ll be splitting my time and staying with two awesome women. Part of the weekend I’ll be at my friend LC’s place (she visited Philly about this time last year), and then I’ll be at my friend KM’s (and her partner PM’s) place. LC and I have our birthdays to celebrate together again (hence the cupcakes), and my visit falls conveniently between her birthday in Feb. and mine next week. We might have to make this seeing each other in March an annual tradition…maybe next year we’ll meet somewhere fun and terrorize a new city. And there are tons of people to catch up with that I haven’t seen since I moved out to Philly a little over year and a half ago (has it been that long? OMG it has!). I can’t wait to see everyone!

Currently I’m frantically trying to clear as much as possible off my desk, make sure my intern has plenty to keep her busy, and prepare for travel (laundry, what’s the latest restrictions for my carry on, etc.). And counting down the hours until I leave…which is now at just about 48 hours…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time off

  1. Staci says:

    YAY for a real vacation– complete with yummy foods and girl-talk! YAY!!!

Leave a Reply

