Complicated things

I sent an email to a colleague on Friday right before I ate lunch. It was a rather convoluted email involving changing the URL of one internal webpage, adjusting the page’s CSS template, and then creating a second page with a different CSS template that was actually the “parent” for the first page. And then adding the “link back” from the first page to the second because the second page is actually the one we want people to access first.

Got all that?

Yeah, neither did the person I sent the message to. Lucky for me, she checked in and clarified before she took any action so all is well now.

Mental note, don’t e-mail complicated things when operating on low blood sugar. Lunch first, then email.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in embarrassment, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

