Identity theft conclusion and irony defined

So with help from a friend who knows how to get information out of the Federal court system better than I do, I finally have a conclusion to my identity theft case. Both defendants have been sentenced to several months in prison followed by several years of supervised release (i.e. probation). They also have to pay back the people they stole the money from using my identity. I can now send the court case number, etc. to the credit bureaus so they can add the information to my record and finish clearing the errant information still present in my credit reports (yup, over a year later I’m still trying to get the last of the identity theft related false information removed). The remaining open ended and frustrating bit to this saga is that I don’t know how they obtained my information. It wasn’t in any of the court records. I’m coming to terms with the fact that I will probably never know, but it will most likely still bother me for quite some time.

I learned all of this today. All because I have awesome friends that were able to help me. I still haven’t actually received a return phone call from any of the voice mails I left with various Court offices. But I have a conclusion to the legal bits anyway, and I’m feeling much less frustrated.

The irony bit? In the mail today was a form letter from the U.S. Postal Service with information on how to protect myself from identity theft. Information I already have because I looked it up when this whole mess started over a year ago. Thanks, USPS, I appreciate the attempt to be helpful and provide useful information (and it is useful information), but you’re a bit late for me. Hopefully it will help others instead and they won’t end up having to go through what I did.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in identity. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Identity theft conclusion and irony defined

  1. lcurtis4 says:

    You want some other irony on the USPS identity theft info? We got our letter from them a few days ago, & we have the kind of mailbox with a slot on the top for the mail to be deposited in, & then we have a key to open it up & retrieve the mail. Our mail carrier is notorious for just leaving the mail sticking out of the slot for anyone to take. This was the case when we got the letter on how to protect ourselves from identity theft. Thanks….

Leave a Reply

