Bad fashion choices 101

There are many bad fashion examples from the ’80s. Day-glo colors. Jeans that were so tight and tapered they had zippers at the bottom. Dance wear as outerwear (leg warmers, cut up sweatshirts, etc.). These are bad bad things that I hope to never see again. I’ll admit to owning and wearing some of them. I even owned a hypercolor t-shirt (don’t judge me). Some of these fashion choices have tried to make a comeback. Some have unfortunately succeeded (please note: leg warmers have a place, and it’s not over a pair jeans).

But today, today I saw something that made me want to claw my eyes out. An abominable merger with a bad ’80s fashion example to create something even worse. STIRRUP TIGHTS. Yes, that would be a blend of stirrup pants and tights.

At first glance, I thought they were stretch pants. Then I looked closer and realized they were too tight to be stretch pants and had a pattern like the knitted cotton tights I wore as a child. Then I looked down to her feet and saw naked feet in a pair of really cute heels (how depressing, good shoes paired with bad fashion choices, but I digress). And then I saw the stirrup extending down from the bottom of her tight. Her heels were bare. Her toes were bare. But there was that one offending strip of fabric wrapped around her instep and under the arch of her foot. Why, people, why do these things exist? Who thought stirrup tights were a good idea?!?

I think all students need to sit through a class titled: Bad Fashion 101, how to make better choices. We can get Stacy London and Clinton Kelley to teach it.

And I hope I never ever see stirrup tights again.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in fashion, university and college life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

