Courtesy

Some companies still practice courtesy when it comes to their customers. Amazingly, Verizon is one of them.

They sent a tech person out to fix my phone line this morning. I knew this was happening, and had confirmed last night that I didn’t actually have to be home. I assumed that I’d find out if they were successful or not when I got home tonight and checked for a dial tone. Mind you, this was already better than AT&T who usually made me call multiple times to report the problem and wait at least a week before they’d actually even consider sending someone out. So my expectations were rather low. Still, I reported the problem on Friday, and Verizon send someone at the first available time. No multiple complaints. No arguing about who’s responsibility the problem is (AT&T always always said it was my responsibility until proved otherwise…even though usually it was their problem). One call to report the problem to Verizon, one test on the line, and they dispatched a tech person to fix it. Cool. Courtesy from a corporation. What a concept.

But it gets even better.

The tech person called my cell phone when he was done to let me know it was repaired. This was after he knocked on my door to try and tell me in person. There was a broken wire that was interrupting my voice transmission but it didn’t affect the DSL transmission. Hence the DSL service but no dial tone (still having issues wrapping my brain around that). But he said that all should be well now, and to check when I get home just to make sure.

They CALLED to let me know the repair was complete.

Wow. Speechless.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone, random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Courtesy

  1. katia says:

    isn’t good customer service awesome? that’s how a company survives.

  2. Isn’t it weird/sad that we’re now surprised by good customer service? Embarq came to my library last week to fix a few things in our video system. The tech guy thought our DVD players and VCRs were sliding around too much and attached them as well as dusted the whole system. I didn’t even ask them to do this. He just noticed it when he was out fixing something else and decided to come back and help.

Leave a Reply

