File under "huh?!"

As you all know from previous posts on the topic, I have a history of problems with my phone line when it rains. In the past, this has meant static on my line. So much static that I end up with no service. The static interrupted not only my land line voice signal, but my DSL signal. Things culminated with the determination that a section of outside cable was in fact bad, and it was replaced the end of November. I haven’t had static on my line during inclement weather since.

This time is different. It’s pouring rain out. It’s been raining all day. Raining so hard that after a quick trip outside the dog was wet enough to look like she had enjoyed a bath.

First, the good news, I don’t have static on my line.

Now, the bad news. I have NO dial tone at all. No static. Nothing. Just silence. It’s creepy.

BUT, I still have a DSL signal. Mind you, the DSL travels on the same lines as my voice signal, making use of the high frequency portions of the phone line (voice only uses low frequency). Logically one would think that if I have no dial tone, meaning something in the line has been interrupted, I would have no internet signal, since it’s all the same phone line. Right? I mean, really, when I had static on my phone line interrupting my voice signal, it interrupted my DSL signal. Therefore it follows that no dial tone would mean no DSL signal, again since it’s all the same line.

Um, maybe not. Apparently that logical assumption is wrong.

No dial tone, but I still have a DSL signal. Huh?! I’m filing this one away under illogical and possibly absurd things in my life.

But I think I’ll stop short of complaining and just accept the absurdity of it.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

