You probably didn’t know

I saw this on the blog This Fish Needs a Bicycle. She posted a random list of things you probably didn’t know about her. I thought it was a fabulous idea, and she told us it was our turn at the end of her post. So here goes. Some of these you might already know, but some of them should still be new, if not a surprise.

I love thunderstorms. I find them magical.

I still sleep with a stuffed dog named Muttsy that my mom gave me in high school. Aussie bit off his nose out of jealousy when she was a puppy. I still have the nose in a drawer.

My favorite color is red and has been since I was five years old.

I don’t particularly like shrimp.

I’ve eaten things I can’t identify and actually enjoyed them. Even when I found out what they were.

I’m a romantic at heart. Cliche things like getting flowers make me melt. [But it pretty much never happens.]

I hate Valentine’s Day. It makes me feel alone. More bad things related to relationships in my life have happened around that day than any other. But I still give Valentines to people. I rarely get any back (except from my mom).

I love bags and containers. And decorative boxes.

The way someone or something smells is important to me. I associate smells with people and places. The smell of my mom’s perfume instantly makes me feel warm and loved. I won’t date someone if I don’t like they way they smell.

I love the way my dog smells. Her feet smell like popcorn.

I’ve wanted to have kids of my own since I was 13 years old. I truly want to be a parent someday. And I’m terrified it will never happen.

I love shoes. A beautiful pair of shoes makes me feel sexy.

I enjoy doing things for other people. I enjoy sending care packages.

I’m a night person.

I almost never remember my dreams when I wake up. And I have the same nightmare (which I do remember) every time I run a fever.

I eat ice cream directly from the carton with a spoon. Why dirty a bowl?

I’m terrified of ending up alone.

My mom’s meat sauce for spaghetti is probably my favorite comfort food ever. And try as I might, I just can’t make it as good as she does. A close second is my dad’s cheeseburgers. Which I also just can’t make the way he does, even though he’s tried to teach me.

I’ve always wanted to do a triathlon because it combines my three favorite individual sports. My favorite team sport is rugby union. I love watching sports but I’m not a crazy super-fan.

I need to feel needed.

I hate having my feet touched. And I can’t stand the feel of things between my toes.

I have crushes on Alton Brown, Anthony Bourdain, Mike Rowe, and Mariska Hargitay.

I can get so lost in what I’m reading that I honestly don’t hear anything around me or people talking to me.

I’ve been reading since I was 2 years old.

I’m only 5 feet, 2 inches tall and have been since I was 12 years old. I have clothes from junior high that still fit.

I’m proud to tell people I’m a librarian. I love my career. But some days I hate my job.

I prefer showers to baths.

My brain (almost) never stops. I’m always thinking about something.

I’ve always kept myself under tight control. I’m afraid of losing that control over myself. Yet I’m trying to learn how to let go and let my “wild child” out more. And I’m afraid she’s too wild or that people won’t like the wild real me.

I almost deleted half the things on this list because I thought they were too personal. And being vulnerable is scary.

Your turn.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

