A woman’s right to choose

Today is the 35th anniversary of Roe v. Wade, the landmark Supreme Court decision that gave women the right to choose and access to legal and safe abortions. Happy anniversary!

And yet, the battle to retain those rights wages on. It’s not about what I would or wouldn’t do if I was faced with such a difficult decision. It’s about someone else that doesn’t know me or my life telling me what I can and cannot do. Choosing whether or not to have an abortion is a personal decision. Just like choosing to have children is a personal decision. The government has no place inserting itself into my personal life and decisions.

Of course, that’s my personal opinion. And you must form your own opinions. But do so in an informed manner. Educate yourself and think for yourself. It’s not anyone’s place to tell you what to think, anymore than it’s anyone’s place to tell you whether or not you have the right to to choose whether or not to have a child.

Blog for Choice Day

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Blog for Choice, life, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

