Conference scheduling nightmares

The 2008 ALA Midwinter Meeting is in Philly this weekend. This means that a large number of librarians will be descending on the city. Large as in somewhere around 12,000 librarians. I have friends staying with me, which is good as I that means we can tag team the dog duties. I’ll be making up a chart to guarantee the dog goes out at least three times a day during the insanity of all the conference meetings.

My weekend is packed. It always is. And I always have conflicts. This year seems to be particularly bad. To make it worse, they seem to be concentrated with nothing either interesting or obligatory in between them. So it’s lots of conflicts for several hours followed by several hours of dead time. On the upside, I’ll actually have several blocks of time to wander through the exhibits this Midwinter Meeting.

OK, back to the problem. I have two conflicting meetings Saturday morning at 10:30. I have three Sunday morning at 10:30 and another two, oops, three at 4:00 that afternoon. The worst part? It’s not a matter of deciding which of two potentially interesting sessions I want to try (and I’ve picked the wrong one before). This time it’s about choosing between two (or three) job related and useful sessions. I’ve tried to do the divide and conquer method with colleagues, where we each attend one, take copious notes, and then trade.

Unfortunately, this won’t work for the Saturday morning conflict. Those two sessions don’t really relate to anyone else’s job buy mine. Damn. I guess it’s time to chant eeny, meeny, miny, moe and just randomly pick one as I only have a few more days to nail down my schedule.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in ALA, conferences, Philly, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

