Death of the elevators

Well, the game of elevator roulette is no more. They are dead. ALL THREE elevators at this end of the library are dead. Apparently there was a power surge that toasted the control panels last week. And we have no idea when they will be fixed, but probably not until after the new year.

They opened several stairways down to the staff only area of the ground floor (basement), but the stairs in the library are confusing in general. I’m still figuring out which stairway will dump me where depending on the floor I’m exiting on. I’ve now taken the both newly opened stairways down (we have to show ID to a security person to keep out the riff-raff) and have ended up in very different places. I got so turned around the first time I practically needed to ask for directions and there are only two options, left or right! It’s an adventure, really.

But this still means having to leave plenty of extra time to navigate the detours when heading to the bathrooms.

UPDATE (1:45 PM): There’s a big sign on the elevator doors saying they are out of order and instructing people to use the elevators at the other end of the building.

I just watched a patron walk up to the elevator, stand directly in front of it, push the button, and then wait.
Me: Excuse me, these elevators are out of order. You need to use the ones at the other end of the building.
Patron: Oh.
Me: Sorry for the inconvenience.
Patron: Oh! There’s a sign! I didn’t see that. [was staring at the closed doors with the sign on them expectantly not 5 seconds ago]

Um…yeah. Just proves that we can post as many signs as we want, but we can’t make them read them.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in random, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

