AAUUUUUGGGHHHH!!!!

It doesn’t end.
It.
just.
doesn’t.
end.

I have now talked to four, count them, FOUR, different people at AT&T about canceling my DSL so I can make the switch to Verizon. I have now heard FOUR different versions of what is happening.

The short story, as of last night at 6pm, my DSL still wasn’t fully canceled, only “suspended.”

To recap: I called the end of November to cancel my DSL. This is what I was told: the order will be processed FULLY on Dec. 7th (last billing day). And they confirmed, when I asked three different times, that it would be canceled. There would no longer be DSL on my phone line at all. No signal at all. Period. Great, as that’s what I want. They give me my confirmation number and the call ends.

So on Monday (12/10) or Tuesday (12/11), I check my account online to verify that everything is fine. AT&T Worldnet Internet Services no longer exists. In fact, if you look at my online account, it looks as if I’ve never had DSL service at all.

And then it goes horribly wrong. Yesterday I got a letter from Verizon telling me they still couldn’t process my order. Confused, I call to find out what’s up. Funny thing, on their end, from the technical side, AT&T actually hasn’t shut off my DSL. The signal is still there on the line. Mind you, I don’t have home internet access, haven’t for a full week now, so I really don’t understand what’s going on. All my information says it’s off. So I set it up for Verizon to call me back today (Friday, 12/14) and I call AT&T again to find out what’s up.

I call AT&T, go through the menus to talk to a person in whatever department handles cancellations, but before I can even GET to a person, I get disconnected. Great.

I call AT&T back, go through the menus AGAIN, and this time actually get to a person. In billing. I explain the situation (at this point I’m still polite), and they tell me that according to their information, my account is suspended and it’s up to the tech support people to actually fully cancel the signal. They’ve done their part in billing.

They transfer me to tech support.

The person I talk to in tech support has NO RECORD of an order to cancel my DSL in their system. On their end they don’t see any evidence of my DSL being suspended, or any request to cancel my service. None. Nada. No evidence at all. WTF?!?! So I give them my confirmation number so they can find the order, which they do, and then they tell me that it’s really the responsibility of the billing department. There’s nothing for them to do in tech support. Uh huh. They offer to transfer me back to billing, so I can try again to find out what’s going on.

During the transfer back to billing, I get disconnected. No sh*t.

So I call AT&T back yet again, go through the f*cking menus yet again, and get to a person. At this point I’m no longer polite, in fact, I’m downright rude. I demand to speak directly to a supervisor. I’m told a supervisor is not available, but they can help me. I tell them that no, I don’t think you can, I want to speak to a manager. I explain my situation. This guy now tells me something different. Something I haven’t heard before from any of the three people I’ve already talked to about this. Apparently my account was only suspended on Dec. 7th at 7:00AM EST (that date and time is very very important), and it takes 3 to 5 business days for it to be fully canceled. I tell him that this is the first time I’ve heard that. What I was told before is very very different. And that he needs to fix it now, because it’s been over three business days. And in fact, Friday morning (12/14) at 7:01AM, is 5 business days. And if tech support has no f*cking record of any order at all, how exactly is this going to happen?! He has no answer or explanation for that one. Big surprise. He asks me to be polite, I tell him to go to hell, I’ve been polite, and yet this is the FOURTH phone call I’ve had to make to get the simple act of canceling my DSL completed and I’ve now been told four different stories, three of them from the same g-ddamn department, his department, billing. So I’m not going to be polite anymore and I really don’t care (not to mention yesterday’s post about my patience going missing).

I then confirm THREE TIMES that as of 7:01AM EST on 12/14 (today) my DSL should be fully canceled. He’s obviously losing patience with me, and I tell him that I just want to be completely clear because obviously things have not been made clear in the other THREE phone calls I’ve made about this. I also want it on record, more than once, what I’m being told, so that if it doesn’t happen I have ammunition to sue them. I demand to speak to a manager again, and am told that there isn’t one available, but he can put in a request for one to call me back in 24 to 48 hours. I tell him to not waste his f*cking time, and hang up.

I’m convinced at this point that I should have just paid AT&T the over $200 early termination fee. Because it’s taken no less than THREE phone calls on average to get anything done with them during the past year. For them to FIX things. No less than three phone calls for each separate issue. I shouldn’t have to call more than once. I can confidently say at this point I will do anything in my power to avoid ever being an AT&T customer again. In any state. Ever. They are absolutely positively the WORST company I have ever dealt with. Frankly, I’d sooner go without a phone than sign up for service with them again.

And you know, I bet that if I had just not paid my DSL service bill my service would have been canceled immediately. No 3 to 5 business day bullsh*t I’d bet.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

