Phone resolution

Who knew a simple dial tone without static could make me so happy. And that it would take so long for me to get it in this day and age. It’s not like phone service is new or anything.

The cable technician came to inspect my lines today. And determined that I indeed had a bad stretch of cable. So for about an hour I had nothing (no dial tone, just silence…it was kind of spooky, actually) while he took out the old cable and put up new. And I’ve had a stable non-static filled line ever since. He even called to let me know that the maintenance was complete and that should fix the problem, confirming again that it was a cable problem.

So this confirms it. I wasn’t crazy. I didn’t deserve the insults, being talked down to, or the full year I’ve been fighting with AT&T to actually make someone come look at my exterior lines. And now that I’ve made them pay for the repairs, I’m leaving them and switching my service providers, effective Friday. Because they don’t deserve any more of my money or time. They’ve taken enough of both thankyouverymuch.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Phone resolution

  1. Catechresis says:

    YAY! A Fixed Line, and Confirmation of Sanity, and it all happened on a MONDAY. Who knew. =) -s.

Leave a Reply

