Elevator roulette

We have three elevators at my end of the building at work. Three. One dedicated for staff use only, that only goes between the first floor and the ground floor. The other two are general public use, and you have to use a key to access the ground floor because they open into a staff-access only area. There are no open stairways that lead to this end of the staff-access only area. At any given time, two of these three elevators may not be working properly.

A colleague aptly described the staff use only elevator as “chronically ill” in a meeting this morning. There are times you get on it, push the button, the doors close, but you don’t move. It just doesn’t go anywhere. So you push the doors open button and get out on the same floor you got on. Other times it moves but the doors don’t open at your destination. Or you try to call the elevator, the button lights up, but the elevator doesn’t move. There’s even a plaque in that staff elevator commemorating when President Gerald Ford got trapped in it!

As for the public use elevators, generally one of the two isn’t functioning. Usually because the doors won’t shut properly. Again, you can get on, push a button, but you don’t go anywhere. Or you’ll call the elevator to, say, go down (with your key, mind you), and both will arrive, but because the lighted arrows at the top of each elevator don’t work properly, you can’t tell which is going up and which is going down (both light up). I can’t tell you how many times I’ve just taken a ride because I got on the wrong one. And you can’t take these elevators to the 6th floor…you have to use the ones at the other end of the building. If you do try to take the ones at my end of the building to the 6th floor, the doors do open, but they open into a locked cage that you can’t get out of from the inside (so I’ve been told…and I have no desire to find out, thankyouverymuch).

At this point, I’m inclined to make sure I take my cell phone with me whenever I ride the elevator just in case I get stuck.

And make sure you leave extra time if you have to go to the bathroom. There are no bathrooms on the first floor (could someone explain this to me? how is that good design??). You either have to go down to the staff area on the ground floor, or up to the third floor for bathrooms on this end of the building. They exist on the second floor, but only at the other end. And God forbid you get stuck in an elevator (or waiting for an elevator) on your way…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in random, work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elevator roulette

  1. At my previous job you, too, HAD to take an elevator to get down into the sub basement where my office was. There were many a day when the elevator didn’t function. There was a ramp for delivery trucks and police vehicles (the building housed a police station and holding cells — that was fun when there were fire alarms and everyone, including the prisoners, were evacuated to the back parking lot…) that you could walk down, but we were told NOT to walk on it because it was unsafe to do so. So, when the elevator wasn’t functioning and I was not allowed to use the ramp… I was late for work and blamed it on the system!

Leave a Reply

