Confusion…but I’m not crazy!

So, um, the technician that I scheduled for Monday morning showed up on Saturday mid-day. Yup. Apparently he got the order early so he showed up. Great. Finally my lines are going to be looked at. And they’re early. Even better. Maybe sobbing on the phone got to them and they’re actually trying to apologize by doing right for once as opposed to just saying sorry a zillion times for their screw up. [I know…wishful thinking…but stranger things have happened!]

First the bad news. He looked at my line coming to the house, and my connection isn’t great, and the line needs to be replaced. He tried switching me temporarily to different connectors, but that didn’t help matters any. There’s something wrong between the tower and the connection at my house. Presumably the copper wire is exposed somewhere along there, which is why I have problems during inclement weather. But there’s nothing the technician can do. He’s referred the problem to the team that does maintenance on the lines, and they’ll probably have to replace them. But in the meantime, I have to live with the static on my line and the intermittent DSL signal that results from the static. Fabulous.

The good news in all of this? I’m not crazy! On several occasions they tried to tell me that it was a problem with the lines in my walls, which is why I had such a hard time convincing them to send someone out to look at the lines coming into the house. The technician confirmed that no, that’s not the problem, it really is a problem OUTSIDE, which is why it only happens during inclement weather conditions like rain. And why the static clears up after a few days…the lines finally dry out. So I was right. After all the phone calls, the insults, the problems, the technician confirmed that I was right all along. It’s their problem, not mine. The exterior lines are their responsibility. And they will be fixed, hopefully soon now that the issue has been identified.

So I consider this a victory. Even though I have to live with the issue a bit longer, still, it’s now clearly their problem. And I’m not crazy. W00T!

And my line is surprisingly stable today. We’re having a winter storm and everything is freezing (snow, freezing rain, slick sidewalks, the works). The line must be frozen…I wonder if the ice helps conduct the signal…or maybe it’s just not wet anymore because the moisture froze up…frankly, I don’t care. All I know is that it’s stable for the first time in a week!!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

