Knew it wasn’t that simple

My phone woes are not over. I knew it was too simple. But instead of triple checking everything I decided to just believe that things MIGHT actually be changing and going the way they were supposed to for once.

I was wrong. So very very wrong. AGAIN.

Tuesday I arrived home to see the service people tried to come by but couldn’t get to the box so they needed to access the premises. This does not surprise me. The alley is quite overgrown and blocked off at one end, so it’s not inconceivable that they need to go through my house to get to the phone box where the line comes into the house. Now, my service at this point is still with AT&T, and they were the ones that sent out the tech. The notice in my door was from Verizon, and it told me I needed to call and schedule an appointment. So I do this: first, I call AT&T, and they tell me to call the service people directly since they left the card. So I call Verizon. And I’m told that yes, I called the right place. AT&T contracts with Verizon for the physical maintenance. And yes, they can set up the appointment. So we do. For Friday afternoon between 1pm and 5pm.

I’m sure you can see where this is going…

Anyway, after making that appointment, I call Verizon to have my service switched over after being insulted for the umpteenth thousandth time by the AT&T phone and DSL technicians. They tell me that the order is all set up, and like I said in my previous post, I’m actually going to get some nice discounts and it will actually cost me quite a bit less per month for the same set of products I’m getting now. Well, they call back two days later and tell me that there’s a small problem. In order for them to switch the DSL, I need to call and put in an order to cancel my DSL with AT&T first. Once they see that the order for cancellation is in, they can place the order for internet service through them. OK. Granted, this creates some minor panic as it means I won’t have home internet access for a good 8 to 10 business days between canceling my service with AT&T and when the service with Verizon actually gets activated. But I can deal. Really. [takes several deep breaths] So I call and cancel my DSL with AT&T on Thursday. Effective Dec. 7th, which is the end of my billing cycle and due to various reasons, pretty much the earliest date possible for them to flip the f*cking switch to turn it off (I don’t understand why it takes a minimum of 5 business days, but whatever). The only good thing is that it will be the end of the billing cycle so there won’t be any credits/partial bills etc. for them to screw up.

Now, the service tech coming out has nothing to do with my service switch. Nothing. It does, however, create some confusion when I call to confirm the appointment, but it gets cleared up. I confirm that my service will be switched now that I’ve canceled my DSL with AT&T, AND that a tech is coming out to the house on Friday afternoon to fix the physical problem with the line. I’m told everything is fine. Remember, this is Thursday. And everything is all set. No problem, I am assured multiple times. Everything is clear.

Again, WRONG. So very very wrong.

It’s now Friday. I took the afternoon off work and waited all afternoon for the technician. No one showed up. So I called the nice little number they gave me to inquire if the tech didn’t show by a specific time. I’m told that the appointment had actually been canceled. WTF?? No one told me. Seriously. NO ONE TOLD ME. Apparently, I called the wrong place and should never had been able to make the appointment in the first place. Federal guidelines and all. But that still doesn’t explain why no one f*cking told me this or let me know the appointment was canceled. It took an hour on the phone to get this answer. ONE HOUR. And my phone line is still full of static. Which means my DSL signal is intermittent. And there’s nothing the Verizon people can do.

I literally started to cry. I sat there on the phone with the person and sobbed. I’m the CONSUMER. It’s not my JOB to know these things. I’m NOT the company. They are. How am I supposed to know the Federal guidelines regarding who I have to make an appointment through for service on my physical line? I just call the help line and go through the f*cking menus to talk to a person. Ultimately, after my sobbing for a good 10 minutes, they tell me I can either cancel my order to switch service to them, or wait until the service switches and then call and make a NEW appointment directly with them, or try calling AT&T again to make a new appointment through them. I manage to get out between sobs to NOT cancel my order to switch my service. But it’s now been clarified that they can’t even switch the service until the DSL is OFF completely. Which is different than what the other TWO people told me. Fine. Whatever. So my service won’t be switched from AT&T to Verizon until December 7th.

Back to the problem that started it all. The physical line. I call AT&T. The first time I called, they told me to call the service people at Verizon directly to make the appointment. I’ve now learned that was wrong. So I call back to schedule a service appointment, but since it’s after 5pm on a Friday, they can’t send anyone out today. Despite the fact that I already had an appointment, which, ironically, is showing up in their system even though I didn’t make it through them. [Are you confused? Yes? Well, so am I] We’re now trying this again, and I have a NEW service appointment on Monday morning between 8am and noon. This means I have to live with the static on my line and the DSL problems all weekend. Yes, I’m quite cranky about this. OK, VERY cranky.

But cross your fingers that the service technician shows up on Monday morning. One way or another, this will all be over soon. But if this keeps up, and I get frustrated enough, I just might cancel my home phone line altogether and go with cable internet access and wireless (i.e. mobile/cell) only for my phone…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

